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Appendix A 
 

Explanatory Material 
  
This Appendix is not part of the requirements of this Regulation, but is included for informational purposes 
only. 
 
The material contained in Appendix A of the Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations is interspersed 
among the verbiage of Regulation 701 through 706 and, therefore, Appendix A is not repeated here.  
 
Appendix A material is shown as a “Note” directly after the paragraph in which it addresses. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 Appendix B 
 

Delaware Statutes Governing State Fire Prevention Commission and State Fire Marshal 
 

16 Delaware Code - Chapter 64 
 

Amusement Rides Safety Inspection and Insurance Act 
 

§ 6401. Short title. 
This chapter may be cited as the Amusement Ride Safety Inspection and Insurance Act. (64 Del. Laws, c. 
409, § 1.) 
 
§ 6402. Definitions. 
As used in this chapter: 
 

(1) "Amusement ride" means any mechanical device or devices that carry or convey passengers 
along, around or over a fixed or restricted route or course or within a defined area for the purpose of 
giving its passengers amusement, pleasure or excitement, but such term does not include: 
 

a. Any single-passenger coin-operated ride that is manually, mechanically or electrically operated 
and customarily placed in a public location and that does not normally require the supervision or services 
of an operator; or 
 

b. Nonmechanized playground equipment, including but not limited to swings, seesaws, 
stationary spring-mounted animal features, rider-propelled merry-go-rounds, climbers, slides, trampolines 
and physical fitness devices. 
 

(2) "Office" means the Office of the State Fire Marshal. (64 Del. Laws, c. 409, § 1.) 
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§ 6403. Administration; enforcement. 
The Fire Marshal shall administer and enforce this chapter. The Fire Marshal shall establish 

reasonable and necessary fees in an amount not to exceed $20 per year for each amusement ride 
covered by this chapter; provided, however, no owner shall have to pay a fee in excess of $100. Funds 
raised through said fees shall be deposited in the State Treasury and shall be credited to the account of 
the Fire Marshal for administration of this chapter. (64 Del. Laws, c. 409, § 1.) 
 
§ 6404. Amusement ride operation requirements. 

A person may not operate an amusement ride unless the person: 
 

(1) Has the amusement ride inspected at least once annually for safety by an insurer or a person with 
whom the insurer has contracted and obtains from that insurer or person a written certificate that the 
inspection has been made and that the amusement ride meets the standards for coverage and is covered 
by the insurance required by subdivision (2) of this section; 
 

(2) Has an insurance policy currently in force written by an insurance company authorized to do 
business in this State, a surplus lines insurer, as defined by Chapter 19 of Title 18, or an independently 
procured policy in an amount of not less than $1,000,000 per occurrence insuring the owner or operator 
against liability for injury to persons arising out of the use of the amusement ride; and 
 

(3) Files with the Fire Marshal in the manner required by this chapter, the inspection certificate and 
the insurance policy required by this section or a photocopy of such a certificate or policy authorized by 
the Fire Marshal. (64 Del. Laws, c. 409, § 1; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1.) 
 
§ 6404A. Requirements for commercial bungee jumping operations. 

(a) A person operating a bungee jump for use by paying customers shall file with the office of the 
State Fire Marshal, in the manner required by this chapter, the inspection certificate and insurance policy 
required by this section, or a photocopy of such a certificate or policy authorized by the Fire Marshal. 
 

(b) Any person operating a bungee jump for use by paying customers which has been registered with 
the Fire Marshal shall be periodically inspected by a representative of the office of the State Fire Marshal. 

 
(c) The office of the State Fire Marshal shall promulgate regulations relating to safety standards for 

the operation of commercial bungee jumps. (68 Del. Laws, c. 448, § 1.) 
 
§ 6405. Insurance filing requirements. 

The documents required by subdivision (3) of § 6404 of this title must be filed with the Fire Marshal 
before June of each year, but if the amusement ride is inspected under subdivision (1) of § 6404 more 
than once a year, the inspection certificate must be filed not later than 15 days after each inspection and 
the insurance policy must be filed before June of each year. (64 Del. Laws, c. 409, § 1.) 
 
§ 6406. Insurance information request. 

The Fire Marshal may request from the sponsor, lessor, landowner or other person responsible for an 
amusement ride being offered for use by the public, information concerning whether or not insurance in 
the amount required by this chapter is in effect on the amusement ride. The sponsor, lessor, landowner or 
other person to whom the information request is made shall respond to the Fire Marshal within 15 days 
after the request is made. (64 Del. Laws, c. 409, § 1.) 
 
§ 6407. Denial of entry to amusement rides. 

The owner or operator of an amusement ride may deny entry to the ride to any person if in the 
owner's or operator's opinion the entry may jeopardize the safety of the person who desires to enter or 
the safety of other patrons of the amusement ride. (64 Del. Laws, c. 409, § 1.) 
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§ 6408. Injunctions. 

The Attorney General, on request of the Fire Marshal or 1 of the Fire Marshal's deputies, may seek 
an injunction against any person operating an amusement ride, including bungee jumps, in violation of 
this chapter, Fire Marshal's regulations, or which are otherwise deemed by the Fire Marshal to present an 
imminent risk to public health and safety including, but not limited to, the risk to public health and safety 
posed by the interruption of traffic flow. (64 Del. Laws, c. 409, § 1; 68 Del. Laws, c. 448, § 2; 70 Del. 
Laws, c. 186, § 1.) 
 
§ 6409. Penalties. 

(a) A person commits an offense if the person fails to comply with any requirement under § 6404 or § 
6405 of this title. 
 

(b) A sponsor, lessor, landowner or other person responsible for an amusement ride being offered for 
use by the public commits an offense if the person fails to provide the required information or provides 
false information under § 6406 of this title. 
 

(c) An offense under this chapter is a class C misdemeanor. 
 
 (d) Each day a violation of this chapter is committed constitutes a separate offense. (64 Del. Laws, c. 
409, § 1; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1.) 
  

 
 

16 Delaware Code - Chapter 66. Fire Prevention. 
 

Subchapter I. 
State Fire Marshal and State Fire Prevention Commission. 

 
§ 6601. State Fire Prevention Commission -- Appointment; qualifications; cause for removal; term 
of office; members to serve without compensation. 

(a) The State Fire Prevention Commission shall consist of 7 persons who shall be qualified by 
experience and training to deal with the matters which are the responsibilities of the Commission. Three 
members of the Commission shall be appointed by the Governor and shall be representatives of industry 
from New Castle County, Kent County and Sussex County. Three members, 1 from each county, shall be 
members of paid or volunteer fire companies and shall be appointed by the Governor from a list of 3 
names of members in good standing submitted by the Volunteer Firefighters' Association of the county in 
which a vacancy exists. The seventh member of the Commission shall be the immediate past President 
of the State Volunteer Firefighters' Association and shall be appointed by the Governor. 

 
(b) Members may be removed by the Governor for continued neglect of the duties required by this 

chapter, or for refusal to act, misconduct, incompetency or other sufficient cause. 
 

(c) Members of the Commission shall be appointed to serve for 6-year terms, but no member may be 
appointed to more than 2 successive full terms. Succeeding appointments shall be made, and any 
vacancy on the Commission shall be filled for the duration of the term, in the same manner as the prior 
appointment. 
 
 (d) Members shall serve without compensation but shall be reimbursed for their actual and necessary 
expenses incurred in the performance of their duties. (16 Del. C. 1953, § 6601; 49 Del. Laws, c. 335; 52 
Del. Laws, c. 5, § 1; 63 Del. Laws, c. 381, § 1; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1.) 
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§ 6602. Same -- Organization and meetings. 
(a) The State Fire Prevention Commission shall select a Chairperson and Vice Chairperson from 

among its members and shall hold regular meetings at least once a month. Special meetings may be 
called by the Chairperson, by the Vice Chairperson in the absence of the Chairperson or by 3 members 
of the Commission. 
 

(b) No business shall be transacted by the State Fire Prevention Commission in the absence of a 
quorum which shall be 4 members, 1 of which must be the Chairperson or Vice Chairperson. (16 Del. C. 
1953, § 6602; 49 Del. Laws, c. 335; 52 Del. Laws, c. 5, § 1; 63 Del. Laws, c. 381, § 2; 70 Del. Laws, c. 
186, § 1.) 
 
§ 6603. Same -- Promulgation of regulations. 

(a) The State Fire Prevention Commission shall have the power to promulgate, amend and repeal 
regulations for the safeguarding of life and property from the hazards of fire and explosion. Such 
regulations, amendments or repealers shall be in accordance with standard safe practice as embodied in 
widely recognized standards of good practice for fire prevention and fire protection and shall have the 
force and effect of law in the several counties, cities and political subdivisions of the State. Whenever 
such regulations and amendments require the issuance of permits or licenses, the Commission is 
authorized to issue such permits or licenses according to the provisions and schedules in § 6607 of this 
title. Such regulations and amendments shall not apply to existing installations, plants or equipment 
unless the State Fire Prevention Commission has duly found that the continuation thereof constitutes a 
hazard so inimicable to the public welfare and safety as to require correction; nor shall such regulations 
and amendments limit or prohibit the shipment, transportation, handling or storage incident to 
transportation of any explosive, combustible or other dangerous article in solid, liquid or gas form by rail, 
water or highway, when such articles are in conformity with regulations of the Interstate Commerce 
Commission; nor shall such regulations, insofar as they purport to prohibit the sale, purchase or domestic 
use of gasoline, kerosene or other fuel burning home appliances for heating or cooking apply to any 
person whose personal faith or belief prevents the use of any alternative heating or cooking appliance 
recommended by the State Fire Prevention Commission, the burden of proof is upon the person claiming 
relief from such regulation. In their interpretation and application the regulations promulgated under this 
chapter shall be held to be the minimum requirements for the safeguarding of life and property from the 
hazards of fire and explosion. Whenever the provisions of any other statute or local regulation are more 
stringent or impose higher standards than are required by any regulations promulgated under this 
chapter, such statute or local regulation shall govern, provided they are not inconsistent with the state 
Code and are not contrary to recognized standards and good engineering practices.  

(b) The State Fire Prevention Commission shall promulgate regulations consistent with the following 
language: The State Fire Marshal shall require that all persons involved in the inspection and testing of 
water-based fire protection systems maintain current certification in the National Institute for Certification 
in Engineering Technologies (NICET II) "Inspection and Testing of Water-based Systems" certification 
program or a substantially similar and equivalent course of instruction, as determined by the State Fire 
Marshal, as a condition of permit renewal after July 1, 2009.  

(c) The State Fire Prevention Commission shall promulgate regulations consistent with the following 
language: The State Fire Marshal shall require that persons involved in the inspection and testing of 
water-based fire protection systems shall complete 16 contact hours of continuing education or similar 
course of instruction during each biennial period of renewal. Any and all continuing education 
requirements completed pursuant to subsection (b) of this section may be used to meet the continuing 
education requirements as called for under this section.  

16 Del. C. 1953, § 6603; 49 Del. Laws, c. 335; 52 Del. Laws, c. 5, § 1; 57 Del. Laws, c. 672; 57 Del. 
Laws, c. 727; 68 Del. Laws, c. 408, § 1; 76 Del. Laws, c. 330, §§ 1-3.;  
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§ 6604. Same -- Public hearing and notices. 
Prior to the promulgation, amendment or repeal of any regulation, the State Fire Prevention Commission 
shall hold at least 1 public hearing on each regulation, amendment or repealer to be separately 
submitted, notice of which hearing shall be published 15 days before the date of the hearing in a 
newspaper or newspapers of general circulation throughout the State. A copy of such notice shall be sent 
at the same time to every person, firm or corporation who shall have registered with the State Fire 
Prevention Commission a request to be so notified. The notice shall contain the time and place of 
hearing, subjects to be discussed, and shall specify the place and times at which the proposed regulation, 
amendment or repealer may be examined. (16 Del. C. 1953, § 6604; 49 Del. Laws, c. 335; 52 Del. Laws, 
c. 5, § 1.) 
 
§ 6605. Same -- Powers in conduct of public hearing. 
 
For the purpose of any public hearing or inquiry made under this chapter, the Commission or any 
subcommittee of the Commission shall have the power to summon witnesses and documents and 
administer oaths for the purpose of giving of testimony, and issue orders requiring strict compliance with 
the decisions made under this chapter. (16 Del. C. 1953, § 6605; 50 Del. Laws, c. 469, § 1; 52 Del. Laws, 
c. 5, § 1; 63 Del. Laws, c. 381, § 3.) 
 
§ 6606. State Fire Marshal -- Appointment; term; salary. 

(a) The office of State Fire Marshal is established. The State Fire Prevention Commission shall 
appoint a person qualified by person's previous training and experience in endeavors similar to those 
herein prescribed as State Fire Marshal. The State Fire Marshal shall be a citizen of this State and a 
resident for at least 5 years prior to appointment. The State Fire Marshal shall receive such salary as may 
be set by the Commission within the limits set by the annual appropriation to the Commission. The State 
Fire Marshal shall devote Marshal's whole time to the duties of Marshal's office. Whenever a vacancy 
shall occur in the office of State Fire Marshal for any reason other than the expiration of a term, the 
vacancy shall be filled by the State Fire Prevention Commission for the balance of the unexpired term. 
The office of the State Fire Marshal shall be located at the state Capitol in quarters provided by the State. 
 

(b) The State Fire Marshal, with the consent and approval of the State Fire Prevention Commission, 
shall appoint all authorized personnel pursuant to Merit System rules and regulations and administer the 
usual oath as required. Salaries of all personnel to include appropriate position classifications, upgrading 
and promotions shall be in compliance with Chapter 59 of Title 29. 

 
(c) The Fire Marshal of any political subdivision of this State, having such an office duly created by 

ordinance or resolution before January 1, 1959, shall serve as an Assistant State Fire Marshal. Within the 
limits of the said political subdivision, Fire Marshal shall have exclusive jurisdiction exercising the duties 
and powers of the State Fire Marshal but Fire Marshal shall serve without compensation. 
 

(d) The State Fire Marshal, with the consent and approval of the State Fire Prevention Commission, 
shall employ or acquire such office and clerical employees as may be necessary for the orderly 
administration of Marshal's office. The State Fire Marshal shall acquire such equipment, furniture, 
supplies and paraphernalia as may be necessary for the orderly administration of Marshal's office. 

 
(e) The State Fire Marshal, the Marshal's Deputy or Deputies, and other members of the Marshal's 

office, in addition to their salaries, shall be reimbursed for their actual and necessary expenses incurred 
in the performance of their duties. (16 Del. C. 1953, § 6606; 50 Del. Laws, c. 469, § 1; 52 Del. Laws, c. 5, 
§ 1; 53 Del. Laws, c. 189; 53 Del. Laws, c. 423, § 1; 56 Del. Laws, c. 340, § 1; 60 Del. Laws, c. 551, § 1; 
64 Del. Laws, c. 336, §§ 1, 2; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1.) 
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§ 6607. Same -- Duties and powers. 

(a) The State Fire Marshal, or the Marshal's Deputy or Deputies, shall enforce all laws and 
ordinances of the State and the several counties, cities and political subdivisions thereof having to do 
with: 
 

(1) Prevention of fires; 
 

(2) The storage, sale and use of any explosive, combustible or other dangerous article in solid, 
liquid or gas form; 

 
(3) The installation and maintenance of equipment of all sorts intended for fire control, detection 

and extinguishment; 
 

(4) The means and adequacy of exit, in case of fire, from buildings and all other places in which 
numbers of persons work, live or congregate from time to time for any purpose, except buildings used 
wholly as dwelling houses containing no more than 2 families; 
 

(5) The suppression of arson. 
 

 (b) The State Fire Marshal, or the Marshal's Deputy or Deputies, shall assist any chief of any 
recognized fire company upon request of such chief. 
 

(c) The State Fire Marshal, or the Marshal's Deputy or Deputies, shall enforce the regulations 
promulgated by the State Fire Prevention Commission as authorized by § 6603 of this title. 
 

(d) The State Fire Marshal, or the Marshal's Deputy or Deputies, shall require the administrative 
heads of public and private schools and educational institutions to have at least 1 fire drill each month 
when said schools are in session and to keep all doors and exits unlocked during school hours. 
 

(e) The State Fire Marshal, or the Marshal's Deputy or Deputies, shall inspect all state and county 
owned institutions, all schools, theatres, churches and other places of public assembly as to fire exits and 
reasonable safety standards and report the Marshal's findings and recommendations to the proper 
administrative heads. 

 
(f) The State Fire Marshal, or the Marshal's Deputy or Deputies, may at any time investigate as to the 

origin or circumstances of any fire or explosion occurring in the State and may at all reasonable hours 
enter any building or premises within the Marshal's jurisdiction for the purpose of making an inspection or 
investigation, which, under this chapter, they may deem necessary to be made. 
 

(g)(1) The State Fire Marshal, or the Marshal's designee(s) shall review all plans and specifications, 
with the exception of those political subdivisions having exclusive jurisdiction under § 6606(c) of this title 
for conformance to the requirements of subsections (a) and (c) of this section, prior to actual construction 
for: 

 
a. All new buildings and additions; for any building undergoing a change in occupancy; or any 

part of a building suffering damage from fire, explosion, or any other cause; with the exception of 
buildings used wholly as dwelling houses containing no more than 2 families and buildings used wholly 
for farming purposes. 

 
b. Alarm systems, fire protection systems, flammable and combustible liquid or gas installation or 

other miscellaneous installations falling under the State Fire Prevention Rules and Regulations. 
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c. Subdivision plans.  

(2) The State Fire Marshal is authorized to establish a schedule of plan review fees to be paid by 
the submitter of the plans reviewed under paragraph (1) of this subsection, except that no fees shall be 
charged for projects financed in excess of 50 percent by state funds, housing developed by an 
organization exempt from tax under § 501(c)(3) of the Federal Internal Revenue Code [26 U.S.C. § 
501(c)(3)], and projects financed under Chapters 40 and 45 of Title 31.  

(3) The plan review fees shall be based on actual costs with the initial payment being based on 
the estimated cost of construction of the building, additions, renovation, alarm system, fire protection 
systems, or flammable or combustible liquid or gas installations or other miscellaneous installations 
required to be approved and shall not exceed the following schedule:  

a. 7/10 of 1% on July 1, 2009; 

b. 3/10 of 1% over $1,000,000 of cost; 

c. With respect to the provisions of paragraphs (g)(3) a. and b. of this section, the 
minimum fee for any plan review shall be no less than $150.  

d. The Fire Marshal must provide a schedule of reduced fees for low life hazard 
occupancies such as warehouses. 

(4) Subdivision plan review fees shall be set at $150. 

(5) The State Fire Marshal, with the approval of the State Fire Prevention Commission, where 
such regulations or amendments duly promulgated under the authority of the State Fire Prevention 
Commission require the issuing of a permit, license or certificate, is authorized to issue such permits, 
licenses or certificates and to establish a schedule of fees not to exceed the following schedule:  

 
a. A maximum of $100 per fire alarm signalling system or fire suppression system, where a 

license is issued under the preceding provision of this section, for wholly owned or proprietary fire alarm 
signalling systems or fire suppression systems, serviced by the system owner. 
 

b. A maximum of $50 for a license to service portable unit fire suppression appliances. 
 

c. A maximum of $25 for all other permits, licenses and certifications as required in the State Fire 
Prevention Regulations. 
 

d. The fees as authorized in this paragraph shall be the maximum so charged by the State Fire 
Prevention Commission and every 2 years shall be reviewed by the Department of Finance, the 
Controller General and the State Fire Marshal. 
 

e. All fees associated with the permitting, licensing or certification processes shall be annual fees, 
payable on a date as scheduled by the State Fire Marshal. 
 

(6) It is expressly provided that said fees collected by the State Fire Marshal shall not affect the State 
appropriation or be deducted therefrom, but shall be so much additional monies available for carrying out 
the provisions of this subsection, and the said fees shall be paid to the State Treasurer for accounting 
and deposited in a special fund in the State Treasury. Said fees included in this subsection shall not be 
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charged for projects financed in excess of 50 percent by state funds, and projects financed under 
Chapters 40 and 45 of Title 31. 

 
(7) The fees as authorized for the plan review process shall be the maximum allowed by the State 

Fire Prevention Commission and will be a cap, that every 2 years, by September 15, a review shall be 
conducted by the Budget Director, the Controller General and the State Fire Marshal, based upon the 
revenue experience and the anticipated funding needs of the Technical Services Division of the State Fire 
Marshal's Office, to revise the fees according to the anticipated funding needs of the State Fire Marshal's 
Office Technical Services Division, incorporating the plan review, licensing and additional consultative 
services. 
 

(8) The permit, licensing and plan review fee requirements of this chapter shall not apply to 
municipalities, towns or other subdivisions of this State or to fire companies that wish to construct 
improvements upon their fire stations. 
 

(h) The State Fire Marshal, or the Marshal's Deputy or Deputies, shall have the authority to issue 
subpoenas in the enforcement of this chapter. (16 Del. C. 1953, § 6607; 50 Del. Laws, c. 469, § 1; 52 
Del. Laws, c. 5, § 1; 53 Del. Laws, c. 423, § 2; 65 Del. Laws, c. 474, § 1; 68 Del. Laws, c. 408, §§ 2-10; 
69 Del. Laws, c. 283, § 1; 69 Del. Laws, c. 291, § 273; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1; 73 Del. Laws, c. 149, § 
1.) 
 
 
§ 6608. Appeals to the State Fire Prevention Commission -- Procedure. 

(a) Appeals to the State Fire Prevention Commission may be taken by any person aggrieved by an 
order or decision of the State Fire Marshal, or the Marshal's Deputy or Deputies, based upon or made in 
the course of the administration or enforcement of this chapter. Appeals to the State Fire Prevention 
Commission may be taken by any officer, department, board or bureau of the State and the several 
counties, cities and political subdivisions thereof affected by an order or decision of the State Fire 
Marshal, or the Marshal's Deputy or Deputies, in the course of the administration or enforcement of this 
chapter. 

 
(b) Appeals by any person aggrieved by an order or decision of the State Fire Marshal, the Marshal's 

Deputy or Deputies, or Assistant State Fire Marshals based upon or made in the course of the 
administration or enforcement of this chapter or local regulations incorporating the State Fire Prevention 
Commission Regulations shall be taken to the State Fire Prevention Commission. Appeals by any officer, 
department, board or bureau of the State and the several counties, cities and political subdivisions 
thereof affected by an order or decision of the State Fire Marshal, or the Marshal's Deputy or Deputies or 
Assistant Fire Marshals, in the course of the administration or enforcement of this chapter or local 
regulations incorporating the State Fire Prevention Commission Regulations shall be taken to the State 
Fire Prevention Commission. 
 

(c) The time within which such appeal must be made and the effect, form or other procedure relating 
thereto shall be as specified in regulations promulgated by the State Fire Prevention Commission 
following notice and public hearings as provided in §§ 6604 and 6605 of this title. (16 Del. C. 1953, § 
6608; 52 Del. Laws, c. 5, § 1; 53 Del. Laws, c. 423, § 3; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1; 71 Del. Laws, c. 183, § 
1.) 
 
§ 6609. Same -- Powers upon appeals. 
Upon appeals the State Fire Prevention Commission shall have the following powers: 
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(1) To hear and decide appeals where it is alleged by the appellant that there is error in any order, 
requirement, decision or refusal made by the State Fire Marshal, or the Marshal's Deputy or Deputies, 
based on or made in the enforcement of this chapter; 
 

(2) To hear and decide, in accordance with any duly adopted regulation, requests for special 
exceptions or for interpretation of regulations or for decisions upon other special questions upon which 
the Commission is required by any regulation to pass; 
 

(3) To authorize a variance from particular provisions of the regulations duly promulgated under § 
6603 of this title where strict compliance with such provisions would entail practical difficulties or 
unnecessary hardships, provided such relief may be granted without substantial detriment to the public 
safety and without substantially impairing the intent and purpose of the regulations promulgated under § 
6603 of this title; 
 

(4) All decisions, authorizations or interpretations made by the State Fire Prevention Commission 
hereunder shall be written and signed by the Chairperson or Vice-Chairperson and filed in the office of 
the State Fire Marshal, or the Marshal's Deputy or Deputies, within 20 days following the appeal. (16 Del. 
C. 1953, § 6609; 52 Del. Laws, c. 5, § 1; 53 Del. Laws, c. 423, § 4; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1.) 
 
§ 6610. Court review of decision of State Fire Prevention Commission; procedure. 

(a) Any person jointly or severally aggrieved by any decision of the State Fire Prevention Commission 
made in the exercise of its appellate function under § 6609 of this title or any officer, department, board or 
bureau of the State and the several counties, cities and political subdivisions thereof may present to the 
Superior Court of the county in which the property in question or the party aggrieved, or either, shall be 
located or of which such party shall be a resident, a duly verified petition setting forth that such decision is 
illegal in whole or in part, specifying the grounds of the illegality. The petition shall be presented to the 
Court within 30 days after the filing of the decision in the office of the State Fire Marshal. 
 

(b) Upon the presentation of the petition, the Court may allow a writ of certiorari, directed to the State 
Fire Prevention Commission, to review the decision of the State Fire Prevention Commission and shall 
prescribe therein the time within which a return thereto must be made and served upon the petitioner's 
attorney, which shall not be less than 10 days and may be extended by the Court. 
 

(c) The allowance of the writ shall not stay proceedings upon the decision appealed from, but the 
Court may, on application, on notice to the Commission and on due cause shown, grant a restraining 
order. 
 
 (d) The State Fire Prevention Commission shall not be required to return the original papers acted 
upon by it, but it shall be sufficient to return certified or sworn copies thereof or of such portions thereof as 
may be called for by the writ. The return shall concisely set forth such other facts as may be pertinent and 
material to show the grounds of the decision appealed from and shall be verified. 
 

(e) If, upon the hearing, it shall appear to the Court that testimony is necessary for the proper 
disposition of the matter, it may take evidence, or appoint a referee to take such evidence as it may direct 
and report the same to the Court with the referee's findings of fact and conclusions of law, which shall 
constitute a part of the proceedings upon which the determination of the Court shall be made. 
 

(f) The Court may reverse or affirm, wholly or partly, or may modify the decision brought up for 
review. 
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(g) Costs shall not be allowed against the Commission unless it shall appear to the Court that it acted 
with gross negligence or in bad faith or with malice in making the decision appealed from. (16 Del. C. 
1953, § 6610; 52 Del. Laws, c. 5, § 1; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1.) 
 
§ 6611. Maintenance of fire hazard, violations of regulations or chapter; enforcement; remedies 
and penalties. 

(a) No person shall erect, construct, reconstruct, alter, maintain or use any building, structure or 
equipment or use any land in such a way to endanger life or property from the hazards of fire or explosion 
or in violation of any regulation or any provision of or any change thereof promulgated by the State Fire 
Prevention Commission under the authority of this chapter. 
 

(b) Whoever knowingly violates such regulations, provisions or change or any provision of this 
chapter with the exception of exceeding the posted occupant load in a place of assembly as outlined in 
subsection (c) of this section shall be fined not more than $100 or imprisoned not more than 10 days or 
both. 

 
(c) Whoever knowingly violates the regulation of exceeding the posted occupant load in a place of 

assembly, as defined in the Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations, shall be fined at least $10.00 
but not more than $100 per person exceeding the posted occupant load as determined by the State Fire 
Marshall. 
 

(d) Each and every day during which such illegal erection, construction, reconstruction, alteration, 
maintenance or use continues after knowledge or official notice that same is illegal shall be deemed a 
separate offense. 
 

(e) In case any building, structure or equipment is or is proposed to be erected, constructed, 
reconstructed, altered, maintained or used, or any land is or is proposed to be used in such a way to 
endanger life or property from the hazards of fire or explosion or in violation of this chapter or of any 
regulation or provision of any regulation or change thereof promulgated by the State Fire Prevention 
Commission under the authority granted by this chapter, the State Fire Prevention Commission, the State 
Fire Marshal or the Attorney General may, in addition to other remedies provided by law, institute 
injunction, mandamus, abatement or any other appropriate action or actions, proceeding or proceedings 
to prevent, enjoin, abate or remove such unlawful erection, construction, reconstruction, alteration, 
maintenance or use. 
 

(f) The State Fire Marshal, or the Marshal's Deputy or Deputies, may make arrests of persons 
violating offenses under this section or of persons violating any of the laws of this State relating to fires or 
burning. 
 

(g) Justices of the peace shall have jurisdiction over offenses under this section. 
 

(h) All moneys derived from a violation of subsection (c) of this section shall be placed in a special 
fund to be used by the State Fire Marshal to carry out the provisions of this chapter. Fines that are a 
result of violations of this chapter that occur within the jurisdiction of the Jurisdictional Fire Marshals shall 
be placed in a separate special fund to be used in that jurisdiction to carry out the provisions of this 
chapter. (16 Del. C. 1953, § 6611; 52 Del. Laws, c. 5, § 1; 55 Del. Laws, c. 169; 55 Del. Laws, c. 170; 70 
Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1; 74 Del. Laws, c. 34, §§ 1-3.) 
 
§ 6612. Annual report; financial statement; budget. 

(a) The State Fire Prevention Commission shall annually, on or before the 30th day of September, 
transmit to the Governor a full report of its proceedings under this chapter and such statistics as it may 
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wish to include therein. It shall also recommend any amendments to the law which in its judgment shall 
be desirable. 
 

(b) Along with the annual report, the State Fire Prevention Commission shall transmit a financial 
statement showing all expenditures and income of the State Fire Prevention Commission covering the 
preceding 12 months, starting July 1 and ending June 30. 

 
(c) In the even numbered years the State Fire Prevention Commission shall submit to the Budget 

Commission a budget showing proposed expenditures for the biennium beginning July 1 next 
succeeding. 
 

(d) The Commission shall be given the authority to reimburse volunteer fire companies which incur 
extraordinary expenses, an amount not to exceed the amount specified in the annual appropriations act, 
upon request from a volunteer fire company. An "extraordinary expense" under the provisions of this 
section shall be defined as an expense for which a volunteer fire company would not normally prepare for 
in its company budget and is not covered by said company's own private insurance. (16 Del. C. 1953, § 
6612; 52 Del. Laws, c. 5, § 1; 73 Del. Laws, c. 309, § 3.) 
 
§ 6613. State fire school -- Location; supervision; purposes. 

There is established in the Dover-Camden-Wyoming area a state institution to be known as the 
Delaware State Fire School. The school shall be under the supervision and control of the State Fire 
Prevention Commission to effectuate the following purposes: 
 

(1) To provide professional and volunteer firefighters with needful professional instruction and training 
at a minimum cost to them and their employers; 
 

(2) To develop new methods and practices of fire fighting; 
 

(3) To provide facilities for testing fire fighting equipment; 
 

(4) To disseminate information relative to fires, techniques of fire fighting and other related subjects to 
all interested agencies and individuals throughout the State; 
 

(5) To undertake any project and engage in any activity which in the opinion of the Fire Prevention 
Commission will serve to protect the public safety. (16 Del. C. 1953, § 6613; 54 Del. Laws, c. 318, § 1; 70 
Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1.) 
 
§ 6614. Same -- Commission's powers and duties. 

(a) The State Fire Prevention Commission shall have complete jurisdiction over, and complete 
management and control of, the Delaware State Fire School and is invested with full power and authority: 
 

(1) To make all rules and regulations necessary for the governing of said institution; 
 

(2) To appoint a director and such instructors, experimental helpers, secretaries and laborers as 
may be necessary, and to remove the same at their judgment and discretion; 
 

(3) To fix compensations and provide for payment thereof; 
 

(4) To have full management, possession and control of the lands, buildings, structures and 
property belonging thereto; 
 

(5) To provide for the courses of study and curriculum of the institution; 



DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION REGULATIONS 
 

  
12 Appendix November 11, 2009 
 

 
  (6) To make rules and regulations for the admission of trainees to said institution; 
 

(7) To visit and inspect said institution and every department thereof, and to provide for the 
proper keeping of accounts and records thereof; 
 

(8) To make and prepare all necessary budgets of expenditures for the enlargement, proper 
furnishings, maintenance, support and conduct of said institution; 

 
(9) To select and purchase all property, furniture, fixtures and paraphernalia necessary for said 

institution from time to time; 
 

(10) To build, construct, change, enlarge, repair and maintain any and all buildings or structures 
of said institution that may at any time be necessary for said institution; 
 

(11) To purchase and acquire all lands and property necessary for same, of every nature and 
description whatsoever; 
 

(12) To care for and maintain the same and to do and perform every other matter or thing 
requisite to the proper management, maintenance, support and control of said institution necessary or 
requisite to carry out fully the purpose of §§ 6613-6618 of this title, and for raising it to and maintaining it 
at the proper efficiency and standard as required in the interest of public safety. 

 
(b) The State Fire Prevention Commission, subject to the limitations and restrictions imposed under 

this chapter, may 
 
1) Acquire any real or personal property by purchase, gift or donation and have water rights; 

 
(2) Make contracts and execute instruments necessary or convenient; 
 
(3) Undertake by contract or contracts, or by its own agent and employees, and otherwise than 

by contract, any project or projects, and operate and maintain such projects; 
 
(4) Accept grants of money or materials or property of any kind from a federal agency, private 

agency, county, city, town, corporation, partnership or individual upon such terms and conditions as the 
grantor may impose; 
 

(5) Perform all acts and do all things necessary or convenient to carry out the power granted 
herein. 
 

(c) The State Fire Prevention Commission shall be permitted to conduct any live burn operation at the 
Delaware State Fire Service Center necessary to carry out the purposes and duties of this chapter, 
notwithstanding any other provision of the Code, any county or municipal ordinance or any rules or 
regulations prohibiting the same to the contrary. (16 Del. C. 1953, § 6614; 54 Del. Laws, c. 318, § 1; 66 
Del. Laws, c. 145, § 1.) 
 
§ 6615. Same -- School attendance fees. 

The State Fire Prevention Commission may fix and collect admission fees and other fees that it may 
deem necessary to be charged for training given, and it is expressly provided that all such fees so 
collected by the Commission shall not affect the state appropriation or be deducted therefrom, but shall 
be so much additional moneys available for the operation and maintenance of said institution, and the 
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said fees shall be paid to the State Treasury for accounting and deposit in a special fund in the State 
Treasury. (16 Del. C. 1953, § 6615; 54 Del. Laws, c. 318, § 1.) 
 
§ 6616. Same -- Director and employees. 

The State Fire Prevention Commission shall employ a Director for the State Fire School who shall be 
especially trained and qualified in fire fighting and fire experimental work and shall employ, on the 
recommendations of said Director, such other instructors, experimental helpers, secretaries and laborers 
as may be necessary to the proper conduct of said institution and may proceed with the erection and 
detailed operation of said institution. (16 Del. C. 1953, § 6616; 54 Del. Laws, c. 318, § 1.) 
 
§ 6616A. Same -- Liability in the performance of instructional service. 
 

(a) No full-time or part-time instructor certified, assigned, approved or contracted by the Delaware 
State Fire School who in good faith provides instructional services shall be liable for any civil damages as 
a result of issuing such instructions, unless guilty or gross of wilful negligence. 
 

(b) No university, college or medical facility, nor any other entity nor any of its faculty members, 
participating in good faith as part of an approved Delaware State Fire School training or educational 
program, shall be liable for any civil damages as a result of any primary or continuing training or 
educational practice by any enrolled students unless guilty of gross or wilful negligence. (66 Del. Laws, c. 
34, § 1.) 
 
§ 6617. Same -- Buildings and equipment. 
The State Fire Prevention Commission shall have the power to prescribe and shall make the necessary 
rules and regulations for the use of the buildings, equipment and other facilities of the institution when 
they are not in use for the purpose set forth. (16 Del. C. 1953, § 6617; 54 Del. Laws, c. 318, § 1.) 
 
§ 6618. Advisory boards. 

(a) Fire School Advisory Board. -- The Delaware Volunteer Firemen's Association shall appoint from 
its members a 6-person Fire School Advisory Board. Two members shall come from New Castle County, 
2 from Kent County and 2 from Sussex County. The State Fire Prevention Commission may consult the 
advisory board on any Fire School matters whether administrative or technical and receive 
recommendations thereon. 
 

(b) Fire Marshal's Advisory Board. -- The Delaware Volunteer Firemen's Association shall appoint 
from its members a 6-person Fire Marshal's Advisory Board. Two members shall come from New Castle 
County, 2 from Kent County and 2 from Sussex County. The State Fire Prevention Commission and the 
Fire Marshal may consult the advisory board on any Fire Marshal matters whether administrative or 
technical and receive recommendations thereon. (16 Del. C. 1953, § 6618; 54 Del. Laws, c. 318, § 1; 65 
Del. Laws, c. 246, § 1; 65 Del. Laws, c. 400, §§ 1, 2; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1.) 
 
§ 6619. Power of Commission to authorize new fire companies or substations; resolve boundary 
and other disputes; prohibit cessation of necessary fire protection services. 

(a) The State Fire Prevention Commission, with the advice of the advisory board, is empowered to 
promulgate, amend and repeal regulations related to the exercise of Commission powers and 
responsibilities defined in this section. 
 

(1) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, the Commission shall determine whether 
any new fire companies or substations shall be authorized in any part of the State. In making such 
determination the Commission shall consider among other things the ability, financial or otherwise, of the 
company seeking authorization to maintain an effective fire company and the fire protection needs of the 
area involved. The Commission, however, shall not authorize the establishment of a new fire company 
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within 4 miles of an existing fire company unless the Commission determines that an existing company is 
not reasonably equipped, manned, organized, financed or disciplined to deliver, or is not actually 
delivering, adequate fire protection in accordance with recognized safety standards to the area it serves. 
 

(2) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, the Commission shall have authority to 
prohibit the suspension of fire protection services in this state by any fire company or substation thereof 
when the ability, financial or otherwise, of the company or substation seeking to suspend such service 
does not warrant such suspension. In making this determination the Commission shall consider, among 
other things, the fire protection needs of the area involved, whether the company or substation seeking to 
suspend fire protection services is inadequately financed, equipped, manned, organized or disciplined, 
and whether a new fire company should be authorized to deliver fire protection services to the area. 
 

(3) The Commission shall have authority, acting on behalf of the State, to enter into agreements 
to confirm the established geographical boundaries of areas served by all existing fire companies in the 
State and to resolve boundary disputes between or among such fire companies. 
 

(4) The Commission shall have authority to enter binding orders resolving disputes or grievances 
within or between fire companies. 
 

(b) The Delaware Volunteer Firemen's Association shall designate from its members a 9-member 
advisory board to advise and make recommendations to the State Fire Prevention Commission in 
connection with the Commission's responsibilities under this section. The advisory board shall consist of 
the President, First Vice-President, Second Vice-President and the 6 members of the Board of Directors, 
excluding the immediate past President who serves as a Commissioner, of the Delaware Volunteer 
Firemen's Association. 
(c) Paragraphs (1) and (2) of subsection (a) of this section shall not be applied with respect to any fire 
company in municipalities with a population greater than 50,000 as established in the official 1980 federal 
census. (16 Del. C. 1953, § 6619; 55 Del. Laws, c. 149; 63 Del. Laws, c. 381, § 4; 68 Del. Laws, c. 437, § 
1; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1.) 
 
§ 6620. Reports from insurance companies; reports of investigations by Fire Commission. 

(a) Each fire insurance company or association doing business in this State shall, within 30 days after 
the adjustment of any loss sustained by it, report to the State Fire Commission, upon forms furnished by 
it, such information regarding the amount of insurance, the value of the property insured and the amount 
of claim as adjusted, as in the judgment of the State Fire Commission it is necessary for it to know. This 
report shall be in addition to any such information required by the Insurance Commissioner. 
 

(b) Upon the request of the owner or insurer of any property destroyed or injured by fire or explosion, 
or in which an attempt to cause a fire or explosion may have occurred, the State Fire Commission, upon 
approval of the Attorney General's office, may make a written report to the person requesting the same of 
the result of the examination made by the Commission regarding the property. (16 Del. C. 1953, § 6620; 
56 Del. Laws, c. 82.) 
 
§ 6621. Injunctive relief. 

The Fire Prevention Commission may in its discretion bring an action in the Court of Chancery to 
temporarily restrain or enjoin any act or practice which constitutes a violation of an order of the 
Commission or of any provision of this chapter and to enforce compliance with any order of the 
Commission or provision of this chapter. (63 Del. Laws, c. 381, § 5.) 
 
§§ 6622-6624. Residential smoke detectors – Required; installation; penalty. 
Repealed by 69 Del. Laws, c. 170, § 2, eff. July 8, 1993. 
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§ 6625. Protection of records. 
Any and all records and reports compiled by the State Fire Marshal's office resulting from the State's 

Juvenile Fire Setter Intervention Program, including, but not limited to, case histories, interviews and 
findings, shall be considered confidential and privileged and shall not be disclosed directly or indirectly to 
anyone other than Family Court, the Attorney General and the Deputies Attorney General and the 
employees of the State Fire Marshal's office in the discharge of their official duties. Such records and 
reports shall not be subject to the Freedom of Information Act pursuant to Chapter l00 of Title 29 and 
shall not be subject to any subpoena powers of any court. (69 Del. Laws, c. 395, § 1.) 
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Subchapter II. 
Smoke Detectors 

 
§ 6631. Smoke detectors required. 

(a) Each owner of a residential occupancy, used wholly or in part as a home, residence, dwelling or 
sleeping place for 1 or more persons, either permanent or transient, including but not limited to any 1-
family and 2-family dwelling, mobile home, modular home, townhouse; lodging, rooming or boarding 
house; hotel, motel, bed and breakfast facility; dormitory, apartment or multi-family dwelling; board and 
care facility; or a residential occupancy by any other name, be it rented, leased or owned, shall install, 
within such occupancy, smoke detection devices and/or smoke detection systems, either photo-electric or 
ionization types, capable of automatically sensing visible or invisible particles or products of combustion, 
and which activate an alarm sufficiently audible to warn the occupants of the building of an impending 
danger of fire or hazard to life. 
 

(b) The requirement for the installation of smoke detecting devices and/or smoke detection systems 
as provided for in this section shall apply to all new and existing occupancies, buildings and/or structures 
listed in subsection (a) of this section, regardless of when any such occupancy, building or structure was 
built. 
 

(c) It shall be the responsibility of the owner of a residential occupancy listed in subsection (a) of this 
section to install and maintain smoke detection devices as required by this chapter, with the following 
exception: Where there is a tenant of a rented or leased occupancy, structure or building required to have 
smoke detection devices and/or smoke detection systems, as required in this subchapter, and the rental, 
lease agreement or contract is for a period of 1 month or more, such tenant shall be responsible for the 
maintenance of any smoke detection devices, with respect to maintaining an operable battery in the 
smoke detection device, within the individual rented or leased unit. 
 

(d) All smoke detection devices and/or smoke detection systems which are required to be installed 
under this subchapter shall be installed in accordance with the applicable provisions of the State Fire 
Prevention Regulations. 
 

(e) When the standards of the State Fire Prevention Regulations and the building codes change with 
respect to the number and location of smoke detectors in new construction, such standards shall be the 
minimum to be utilized for determining compliance with this statute for new construction. A listing of all 
updated standards and their effective dates shall be maintained in the State Fire Marshal's Office. 
 

(f) It shall not be the duty of a real estate salesperson or broker, licensed under Chapter 29 of Title 24 
to verify the compliance of any person or residential occupancy with the provisions of this subchapter. (69 
Del. Laws, c. 170, § 2; 71 Del. Laws, c. 219, § 1.) 
 
§ 6632. Smoke detector installation in 1- and 2-family dwellings; mobile homes; modular homes; 
townhouses. 

(a) Each 1-family and 2-family dwelling, mobile home, modular home, and townhouse shall have 
smoke detection devices and/or smoke detection systems installed according to the following 
requirements: 
 

(1) For each new building or occupancy built after July 8, 1993, smoke detection devices shall be 
installed in accordance with the provisions of the State Fire Prevention Regulations and the building 
codes in effect at the time of new construction. 

 
(2) For all buildings or occupancies erected or built prior to July 8, 1993, each required smoke 

detection device shall be installed outside each sleeping area in the immediate vicinity of the bedrooms 
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and shall be installed on each additional story of the family living unit, including basements, but excluding 
crawl spaces and unfinished attics, if nothing is stored or kept in such area; but the smoke detection 
devices in existing buildings or occupancies may be single-station, individual smoke detection devices, 
approved by Underwriters Laboratories or the Factory Mutual Association, and powered by a monitored 
battery power supply in accordance with Delaware Fire Prevention Regulations. 
 

(b) Nothing contained in this section shall prohibit the owner of any 1-family or 2-family dwelling, 
mobile home, modular home or townhouse from installing an inter-connected smoke detection system, 
hard-wired to the building's electrical system. (69 Del. Laws, c. 170, § 2; 71 Del. Laws, c. 219, §§ 2, 3.) 
 
§ 6633. Smoke detector installation; other residential occupancies. 

(a) Each lodging, rooming or boarding house; hotel, motel, bed and breakfast facility; dormitory; 
apartment or multi-family dwelling; board and care facility; or a residential occupancy by any other name 
shall have smoke detection devices and/or smoke detection systems installed in conformance to the 
standards of the State Fire Prevention Regulations and the building codes pursuant to the specifications 
for the individual occupancies or use. 

 
(b) Where there is a conflict between installation requirements, this section shall be interpreted to 

require the more strict of the installation specifications, for a particular occupancy. 
 

(c) All required smoke detection devices and/or smoke detection systems listed in subsection (a) of 
this section, except as otherwise specified herein, shall be inter-connected, so that operation of any 
smoke detection device shall cause the alarm-sounding devices in all smoke detection devices within the 
building, occupancy or within a separate zoned area to sound; or that will initiate the building fire alarm 
system to provide an audible warning to all occupants of the building, and all such smoke detection 
devices and/or systems shall be hard-wired into the electric system of the building, in accordance with the 
National Electric Code. 
 

(d) With approval of the Fire Marshal, smoke detection devices in individual sleeping rooms may be 
excepted from the requirement that smoke detection devices be interconnected if such building or 
occupancy is provided with an automatic smoke detection system in the hallways, corridors or stairwells, 
or is connected to a building fire alarm system which will activate an alarm which is sufficiently audible to 
warn the occupants of the building of the impending danger of fire or hazard to life. 
 

(e) For all buildings or occupancies which under subsection (a) of this section are required to install 
smoke detection devices and/or smoke detection systems, and for such buildings or occupancies that do 
not have an auxiliary, emergency or back-up power system in accordance with State Fire Prevention 
Regulations, each smoke detection device or smoke detection system shall utilize the type of smoke 
detection device that has a built-in battery back-up power supply. 
 

(f) The plans and specifications for all smoke detection devices and/or systems required by this 
subsection shall be submitted to the State Fire Marshal's Office, prior to installation, for review and 
approval in accordance with § 6607 of this title. (69 Del. Laws, c. 170, § 2; 71 Del. Laws, c. 219, § 4.) 
 
§ 6634. Smoke detectors; compliance dates. 

(a) For each newly erected or constructed 1-family and 2-family dwelling, mobile home, modular 
home or townhouse listed in § 6631 of this title, the compliance date shall be July 8, 1993. 
 

(b) For all existing 1-family and 2-family dwellings, mobile homes, modular homes or townhouses 
listed in § 6631 of this title, erected or constructed prior to July 8, 1993, the compliance date shall be July 
1, 1994. 
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(c) For all other residential occupancies listed in § 6633 of this title, constructed after July 8, 1993, the 
required smoke detection devices and/or smoke detection systems shall be installed at time of 
construction. 
 

(d) For all other existing residential occupancies listed in § 6633 of this title, newly erected or 
constructed prior to July 8, 1993, the compliance date shall be July, 1, 1996. (69 Del. Laws, c. 170, § 2.) 
 
§ 6635. Smoke detectors, penalties for noncompliance. 

(a) Each owner and/or tenant of every building or occupancy required to have smoke detection 
devices and/or smoke detection systems in accordance with this subchapter, whether an individual or a 
body corporate, who fails to comply with this subchapter regarding smoke detection devices and/or 
smoke detection systems, shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $500 for each offense. The 
Justice of the Peace Courts shall have jurisdiction over any violation of this subchapter. 

 
(b) Anyone who tampers with, damages, destroys or renders inoperative any smoke detection device 

and/or smoke detection system, shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $500 for each offense. 
The Justice of the Peace Courts shall have jurisdiction over these violations. 
 

(c) Where a fire department responds to an alarm of any type at a building or occupancy required to 
have smoke detection devices and/or smoke detection systems as required by this subchapter or by the 
State Fire Prevention Regulations, and such building does not have a functional, working smoke 
detection device and/or the smoke detection system is not operable, is not in service, or is not installed or 
maintained as required by this chapter or by the State Fire Prevention Regulations; or the Fire Marshal's 
Office becomes aware of such building or occupancy, the State Fire Marshal's Office shall have authority 
to investigate. The State Fire Marshal may issue a summons, where necessary, to the owner and/or 
occupant of such building or occupancy, for an appearance in the nearest Justice of the Peace Court. 
 

(d) Each fine specified in this section of this title shall be remitted to the State Fire Marshal's Office in 
accordance with § 6607(g)(5) of this title, which provisions shall be complied with in implementing the 
requirements of this chapter. All receipts shall be used to subsidize the costs of providing a greater public 
awareness of the ramifications of not having smoke detectors; and to provide smoke detection devices, 
where possible and/or permissible, for 1-family and 2-family dwellings, mobile homes, modular homes or 
townhouses, where enforcement action takes place with respect to the owner and/or occupant of the 1-
family and 2-family dwelling, mobile home, modular home or townhouse. 
 

(e) In the enforcement of this subchapter with respect to smoke detection devices and/or smoke 
detection systems, where the fines are collected within the jurisdictions of the cities of Wilmington, 
Newark, Dover or New Castle, such fines shall be remitted to the appropriate political subdivision, and 
shall be utilized for the purposes stated in subsection (d) of this section. 
 

(f) The State Fire Marshal's Office shall be the state-wide manager and agency for all public 
awareness programs generated by the proceeds of the fines collected under this section. 
 

(g) With the exception of subsection (f) of this section, where any reference is made to the State Fire 
Marshal or the State Fire Marshal's Office, such reference shall be interpreted to also apply to the 
Assistant State Fire Marshals of the cities of Wilmington, Newark, Dover and New Castle for the 
enforcement actions of these provisions. 
 

(h) The State Fire Marshal or the Attorney General may, in addition to other remedies provided by 
this section, institute injunction, mandamus, abatement or any other appropriate action or actions or 
proceedings to prevent any continued violations of this chapter. (69 Del. Laws, c. 170, § 2.) 
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§ 6636. Exceptions; claims of negligence. 
Failure to comply with this subchapter shall not be considered as evidence of either comparative or 
contributory negligence in any civil suit or insurance claim adjudication arising out of any injury or death 
arising from a fire or the direct consequences of a fire; nor shall failure to comply with this subchapter be 
admissible as evidence in any trial of any civil action or insurance claim adjudication. (69 Del. Laws, c. 
170, § 2.) 
 
§ 6637. Fire Detection Fund. 

(a) This section shall be referred to as the "Delaware Fire Detection Fund." 
 

(b) A special fund of the State is hereby created to be known as the "Delaware Fire Detection Fund." 
All moneys, including gifts, bequests, grants or other funds from private or public sources specifically 
designated for the Delaware Fire Detection Fund shall be deposited or transferred to the Fire Detection 
Fund. Moneys in the Delaware Fire Detection Fund may be saved and deposited in an interest bearing 
savings or investment account. Interest or other income earned on the moneys in the Delaware Fire 
Detection Fund shall be deposited or transferred into the Delaware Fire Detection Fund. The Delaware 
Fire Detection Fund shall not lapse or revert to the General Fund. 
 

(c) Moneys from the Delaware Fire Detection Fund shall be expended for the purpose of providing 
hard-wired smoke detectors with battery back up to Delaware residences lacking fire detection devices; 
provided, however, any moneys received from State-appropriated funds shall only be used for owner-
occupied residences. Any moneys derived from private sources may be used for any Delaware 
residences. Any moneys derived from private sources may be used for any Delaware residences. 
 

(d) The State Fire Marshal is authorized to identify and maintain an approved contractor list of 
licensed master electricians and licensed fire alarm signaling system companies for the purpose of 
installing hard-wired smoke detectors. The State Fire Marshal will maintain this approved list in each 
county in order to minimize costs and maximize efficiency consistent with public safety. This approved list 
will be furnished to those owners identified as lacking fire detection devices as outlined in subsection (c) 
of this section. 
 

(e) The State Fire Prevention Commission (Commission) is authorized to adopt rules and regulations 
necessary to administer the program in accordance with this section. The Commission will establish a 
priority list to distribute the hard-wired smoke detectors. 
 

(f) The State Fire Marshal shall supervise and administer the program in accordance with any rules 
and regulations adopted by the Commission through the State Fire Marshal's Office Quality Assurance 
Program. 
 

(g) The objective of the Fund is to ensure the installation of working smoke detectors in every private 
residence in the State. (73 Del. Laws, c. 237, § 1.) 



DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION REGULATIONS 
 

  
20 Appendix November 11, 2009 
 

Subchapter III. 
False Fire Alarms 

Effective Jan. 1, 2004 
 
§ 6638. Definitions - Effective Jan. 1, 2004. 
As used in this subchapter: 

 
(a) "Alarm Activation Report" means a designated form issued by the State Fire Marshal for use by 

the Fire Chief indicating the alarm signal was found to be the result of a false alarm. 
 

(b) "Alarm signal" means the activation of a fire alarm signaling system or a fire suppression system 
that requests a response by a fire department. 
 

(c) "Audible alarm" means any device, bell, horn, or siren which is attached to the interior or exterior 
of a building, emits a warning signal outside the building and is designed to attract attention when 
activated by a fire. 
 

(d) "Dispatch center" means a location specifically configured for the primary purpose of providing 
emergency communications services, public safety answering point services, and dispatch of fire 
apparatus to emergency situations. 
 

(e) "False alarm" means the activation of a fire alarm signaling system or any audible alarm which 
results in a response by the fire department and which is not the result of a fire or other emergency. 
 

(1) "False alarm" includes: 
 

a. Negligently or accidentally activated alarm signals; and 
b. Alarm signals that are the result of faulty, malfunctioning, or improperly installed or 

maintained equipment. 
 
(2) "False alarm" does not include: 

 
a. Alarm signals activated by severe weather conditions; 

 
b. Alarm signals activated during the initial 30-day period following new installation; or 
c. Alarm signals knowingly activated pursuant to § 1245(1) of Title 11, falsely reporting an 

incident. 
 

(f) "Fire alarm contractor" means a person or company licensed by the State Fire Marshal's Office 
and engaged in installing, maintaining, monitoring, altering, or servicing fire alarm signaling or fire 
suppression systems. 
 

(g) "Fire alarm signaling monitoring company" means a station or building located remote from the 
protected premises where fire alarm signals from one or more protected premises are received and from 
where, upon receipt of such signal, a dispatch center is notified. 
 

(h) "Fire alarm signaling system" means an automatic or manual fire alarm or fire suppression system 
in accordance with the State Fire Prevention Regulations. For the purpose of this legislation, "fire alarm 
signaling system" does not include typical household single-station smoke detectors in 1- and 2-family 
dwellings. 
 

(i) "Fire Chief" means the Fire Chief or officer in charge of the responding fire department. 



DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION REGULATIONS 
 

  
November 11, 2009 Appendix 21 

 

 
(j) "Monitored System" means the process by which a fire alarm signaling monitoring company 

receives signals from a fire alarm system and notifies the dispatch center. 
 

(k) "Owner" means any person who owns the premises where the fire alarm signaling system or fire 
suppression system is installed or the person or persons who lease, operate, occupy, manage the 
premises, or are bound by the contract for services provided by the fire alarm signaling monitoring 
company. 
 

(l) "Premises" means any building or structure where a fire alarm signaling system is installed. (74 
Del. Laws, c. 21, § 1.) 
 
§ 6639. Initial installation requirements - Effective Jan. 1, 2004. 

(a) Upon the installation of a new fire alarm signaling system, the fire alarm contractor shall furnish 
the owner with written operating instructions and training to enable the owner to use the fire alarm 
signaling system properly. The fire alarm contractor shall notify the owner of the provisions of this chapter 
and of the State Fire Prevention Regulations upon completion of the installation of the fire alarm signaling 
system. 
 

(b) A "Record of Completion" form, designated by the Office of the State Fire Marshal, containing 
owner and system information shall be submitted by the fire alarm contractor to the State Fire Marshal for 
all new fire alarm signaling systems. (74 Del. Laws, c. 21, § 1.) 
 
§ 6640. Fire alarm signaling monitoring companies - Effective Jan. 1, 2004. 

(a) All fire alarm signaling monitoring companies are responsible for directing the call reporting the 
fire alarm signal to the appropriate dispatch center, and for providing the dispatch center with accurate 
location information. 
 

(b) All fire alarm signaling monitoring companies shall maintain a current contact list of 3 
representatives or designees of the owners of which 1 will respond to the premises within 30 minutes to 
assist the fire department in gaining access to the building. The fire alarm signaling monitoring company 
shall have current contact information for each representative or designee of the owner. The contact list 
must be updated on an annual basis. 
 

(c) Where an owner is unable to provide a minimum of 3 representatives or designees who can 
respond within 30 minutes, in accordance with subsection (b) of this section, a lock box containing keys 
for fire department access shall be provided as specified in the State Fire Prevention Regulations. 
 

(d) A $100 civil penalty will be charged if an owner fails to provide either a minimum of 3 
representatives or designees who can respond within 30 minutes or a lock box approved by the Office of 
the State Fire Marshal. 
 
 (e) A $100 civil penalty shall be charged each time a fire alarm signaling monitoring company violates 
a provision of this section. 
 

(f) For a fire alarm system installed in a single-family dwelling, the fire alarm contractor is responsible 
to solicit an updated contact list on an annual basis from the owner. It is an affirmative defense if the 
owner fails to comply with the fire alarm contractor's requests for information. (74 Del. Laws, c. 21, § 1.) 
 
§ 6641. Testing of fire alarm signaling systems-Effective Jan. 1, 2004. 

(a) No person shall conduct any test or demonstration of a fire alarm signaling system without first 
contacting the appropriate fire dispatch center and fire alarm signaling monitoring company. The fire 
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dispatch center and fire alarm signaling monitoring company shall also be contacted when the fire alarm 
test or demonstration is completed. 
 

(b) A violation of this section shall be punished as follows: 
 

(1) First offense; written warning; no fine. 
 

(2) Second offense: $100 civil penalty. 
 

(3) Third and subsequent offenses: $500 civil penalty for each offense. 
 

(c) For purposes of this section, a fire alarm contractor that employs a person who violates this 
section will be held accountable for the offense. 
 

(d) The offenses will be cumulative for all of the fire alarm contractor's employees who violate this 
section within a calendar year. 
 

(e) The term "calendar year" shall be January 1, 2004 through December 31, 2004 for the first year 
and shall be January 1 through December 31 for each subsequent year. (74 Del. Laws, c. 21, § 1.) 
 
§ 6642. Inspection and maintenance of fire alarm signaling systems -Effective Jan. 1, 2004. 

(a) The owner shall ensure that the fire alarm signaling system is inspected and tested in accordance 
with the State Fire Prevention Regulations. 
 

(b) The owner shall ensure that the fire alarm signaling system is maintained per manufacturer's 
specifications. (74 Del. Laws, c. 21, § 1.) 
 
§ 6643. Fire alarm activation - Effective Jan. 1, 2004. 

(a) The owner shall be responsible for the activation of a fire alarm signaling system. 
 

(b) A response to the activation of a fire alarm signaling system shall result when the fire department 
is dispatched to the premises where the fire alarm signaling system has been activated. 
 

(c) In the event that the dwelling fire alarm system, as defined in NFPA 72, is a Monitored System, 
the fire alarm signaling monitoring company shall be permitted to verify residential alarm signals prior to 
reporting them to the dispatch center, provided that the verification process does not delay the reporting 
by more than 90 seconds. 

 
(d) Upon determining that a false alarm has occurred at the premises, the Fire Chief will submit an 

"Alarm Activation Report" to the State Fire Marshal's Office. 
 

(e) Resetting an alarm panel by any person prior to the Fire Chief's authorization shall be prohibited, 
and shall be considered a false alarm if the Fire Chief cannot determine the cause and nature of the 
alarm activation. (74 Del. Laws, c. 21, § 1.) 
 
§ 6644. Excessive false alarms prohibited -Effective Jan. 1, 2004. 

(a) Owners of a premise protected by a fire alarm signaling system shall not cause more than 3 false 
alarms within a calendar year. 
 

(b) The State Fire Marshal will record the number of "Alarm Activation Reports" for each premise. 
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(c) An owner that is in violation of subsection (a) of this section will be subject to a civil penalty as 
follows: 
 

(1) Fourth alarm: $100 civil penalty. 
 

(2) Fifth alarm: $200 civil penalty. 
 

(3) Sixth and subsequent alarms: $250 civil penalty for each offense. 
 

(d) The term "calendar year" shall be January 1, 2004 through December 31, 2004 for the first year 
and shall be January 1 through December 31 for each subsequent year. (74 Del. Laws, c. 21, § 1.) 
 
§ 6645. Civil penalties and appeals - Effective Jan. 1, 2004. 

(a) The State Fire Marshal shall assess all civil penalties as outlined in this subchapter. 
 
 (b) All civil penalties will be paid within 30 days of assessment. 

 
(c) All moneys derived from the civil penalties shall be placed in the Fire Detection Fund pursuant to § 

6637 of this title. 
 

(d) An owner or a fire alarm contractor may appeal the assessment of a civil penalty to the State Fire 
Prevention Commission in accordance with the State Fire Prevention Regulations. 
 

(e) The Justice of the Peace Court shall have jurisdiction over all unpaid civil penalties. (74 Del. 
Laws, c. 21, § 1.) 
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16 Delaware Code - Chapter 71a 
 

 Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarettes. 
§ 7116. Definitions. 

As used in this chapter: 

(1) "Agent" shall mean any person authorized by the State to purchase and affix tax stamps on 
packages of cigarettes. 

(2) "Cigarette" means: 

a. Any roll for smoking whether made wholly or in part of tobacco or any other substance, 
irrespective of size or shape and whether or not such tobacco or substance is flavored, adulterated or 
mixed with any other ingredient, the wrapper or cover of which is made of paper or any other substance 
or material other than leaf tobacco; or  

b. Any roll for smoking wrapped in any substance containing tobacco which, because of 
its appearance the type of tobacco used in the filler or its packaging and labeling, is likely to be offered, or 
purchased by, consumers as a cigarette as described in paragraph (2)a. of this section above.  

(3) "Manufacturer" shall mean: 

a. Any entity which manufactures or otherwise produces cigarettes or causes cigarettes 
to be manufactured or produced anywhere that such manufacturer intends to be sold in this State, 
including cigarettes intended to be sold in the United States through an importer; or  

b. The first purchaser anywhere that intends to resell in the United States cigarettes 
manufactured anywhere that the original manufacturer or maker does not intend to be sold in the United 
States; or  

c. Any entity that becomes a successor of an entity described in paragraph (3)a. or (3)b. 
of this section. 

(4) "Quality control and quality assurance program" shall mean the laboratory procedures 
implemented to ensure that operator bias systematic and nonsystematic methodological errors and 
equipment-related problems do not affect the results of the testing. This program ensures that the testing 
repeatability remains within the required repeatability values stated in § 7117(a)(6) of this title for all test 
trials used to certify cigarettes in accordance with this chapter.  

(5) "Repeatability" shall mean the range of values within which the repeat results of cigarette 
test trials from a single laboratory will fall 95 percent of the time.  

(6) "Retail dealer" shall mean any person other than a manufacturer or wholesale dealer 
engaged in selling cigarettes or tobacco products.  

(7) "Sale" means in addition to its usual meaning, any sale, transfer, exchange, theft, barter, gift 
or offer for sale and distribution, in any manner or by any means whatsoever.  

(8) "Sell" shall mean to sell or to offer or agree to do the same. 

(9) "State Fire Marshal" shall mean the Delaware State Fire Marshal or the State Fire Marshal's 
deputies. 
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(10) "Wholesale dealer" shall mean any person who sells cigarettes or tobacco products to 
retail dealers or other persons for purposes of resale, and any person who owns, operates or maintains 1 
or more cigarette or tobacco product vending machines in, at or upon premises owned or occupied by 
any other person.  

 76 Del. Laws, c. 100, § 1; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1.;  

§ 7117. Test method and performance standard.  

(a) Except as provided in subsection (g) of this section, no cigarettes may be sold or offered for sale in 
this State or offered for sale or sold to persons located in this State unless such cigarettes have been 
tested in accordance with the test method and meet the performance standard specified in this 
subsection; and a written certification has been filed by the manufacturer with the State Fire Marshal in 
accordance with § 7118 of this title, and the cigarettes have been marked in accordance with § 7119 of 
this title.  

(1) Testing of cigarettes shall be conducted in accordance with the American Society of Testing 
and Materials (ASTM) standard E2187-04 "Standard Test Method for Measuring the Ignition Strength of 
Cigarettes."  

(2) Testing shall be conducted on 10 layers of filter paper. 

(3) No more than 25 percent of the cigarettes tested in a test trial in accordance with this 
subsection shall exhibit full-length burns. Forty replicate tests shall comprise a complete test trial for each 
cigarette tested.  

(4) The performance standard required by this subsection shall only be applied to a complete 
test trial. 

(5) Written certification shall be based upon testing conducted by a laboratory that has been 
accredited pursuant to standard ISO/IEC 17025 of the International Organization for Standardization 
(ISO), or other comparable accreditation standard required by the State Fire Marshal.  

(6) Laboratories conducting testing in accordance with this section shall implement a quality 
control and quality assurance program that includes a procedure that will determine the repeatability of 
testing results. The repeatability value shall be no greater than 0.19.  

(7) This section does not require additional testing if cigarettes are tested consistent with this 
chapter for any other purpose. 

(8) Testing performed or sponsored by the State Fire Marshal to determine a cigarette's 
compliance with the performance standard required shall be conducted in accordance with this section.  

(b) Each cigarette listed in a certification submitted pursuant to § 7118 of this title that uses lowered 
permeability bands in the cigarette paper to achieve compliance with the performance standard set forth 
in this section shall have at least 2 nominally identical bands on the paper surrounding the tobacco 
column. At least 1 complete band shall be located at least 15 millimeters from the lighting end of the 
cigarette. For cigarettes on which the bands are positioned by design there shall be at least 2 bands fully 
located at last 15 millimeter from the lighting end and 10 millimeters from the filter end of the tobacco 
column, or 10 millimeters from the labeled end of the tobacco column for a nonfiltered cigarette.  

(c) The manufacturer or manufacturers of a cigarette that the State Fire Marshal determines cannot be 
tested in accordance with the test method prescribed in subsection (a) of this section shall propose a test 
method and performance standard for such cigarette to the State Fire Marshal. Upon approval of the 
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proposed test method and a determination by the State Fire Marshal that the performance standard 
proposed by the manufacturer or manufacturers is equivalent to the performance standard prescribed in 
paragraph (a)(3) of this section, the manufacturer or manufacturers may employ such test method and 
performance standard to certify such cigarette pursuant to § 7118 of this title. If the State Fire Marshal 
determines that another state has enacted reduced cigarette ignition propensity standards that include a 
test method and performance standard that are the same as those contained in this chapter, and the 
State Fire Marshal finds that the officials responsible for implementing those requirements have approved 
the proposed alternative test method and performance standard for a particular cigarette proposed by a 
manufacturer as meeting the fire safety standards of that state's law or regulation under a legal provision 
comparable to this section, then the State Fire Marshal shall authorize that manufacturer to employ the 
alternative test method and performance standard to certify that cigarette for sale in this State, unless the 
State Fire Marshal demonstrates a reasonable basis why the alternative test should not be accepted 
under this chapter. All other applicable requirements of this section shall apply to such manufacturer or 
manufacturers.  

(d) In order to ensue compliance with the performance standard specified in subsection (a) or (c) of 
this section, data from testing conducted by manufacturers to comply with this performance standard 
shall be kept on file by such manufacturers for a period of 3 years and shall be sent to the State Fire 
Marshal upon its request, and to the Office of the Attorney General upon its request. Any manufacturer 
who fails to make copies of these reports available within 60 days of receiving a written request shall be 
subject to a civil penalty not to exceed $10,000 for each day after the sixtieth day that the manufacturer 
does not make such copies available.  

(e) The State Fire Marshal may adopt a subsequent ASTM Standard Test Method for Measuring 
Ignition Strength of Cigarettes upon a finding that such subsequent method does not result in a change in 
the percentage of full-length burns exhibited by any tested cigarette when compared to the percentage of 
full-length burns the same cigarette would exhibit when tested in accordance with ASTM Standard 
E2187-04.  

(f) As of January 1, 2010, and at least every 3 years thereafter, the State Fire Marshal shall undertake 
a review of the effectiveness of this chapter and report its findings to the legislature. Based upon such 
review, the State Fire Marshal may recommend legislation to improve the effectiveness of this chapter. 
The report and legislative recommendations shall be submitted no later than June 30 following the 
conclusion of each 3-year period.  

(g) The requirements of subsection (a) of this section shall not prohibit: 

(1) Wholesale or retail dealers from selling their existing inventory of cigarettes on or after 
January 1, 2009, if the wholesale or retailer dealer can establish that state tax stamps were affixed to the 
cigarettes prior to January 1, 2009, and if the wholesale or retail dealer can establish that the inventory 
was purchased prior to January 1, 2009, in comparable quantity to the inventory purchased during the 
same period of the prior year.  

(2) The sale of cigarettes solely for the purpose of consumer testing. For purposes of this 
subsection, the term "consumer testing" shall mean an assessment of cigarettes that is conducted by a 
manufacturer (or under the control and direction of a manufacturer), for the purpose of evaluating 
consumer acceptance of such cigarettes, utilizing only the quantity of cigarettes that is reasonably 
necessary for such assessment, and in a controlled setting where the cigarettes are either consumed on-
site or returned to the testing administrators at the conclusion of testing.  

(h) This chapter shall be implemented in accordance with the implementation and substance of the 
New York Fire Safety Standards for Cigarettes.  
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76 Del. Laws, c. 100, § 1.;  

§ 7118. Certification of compliance by manufacturers.  

(a) Each manufacturer shall submit to the State Fire Marshal a written certification attesting that: 

(1) Each cigarette listed in the certification has been tested in accordance with § 7117 of this 
title; 

(2) Each cigarette listed in the certification meets the performance standard set forth under § 
7117(a)(3) of this title; 

(3) Each cigarette listed in the certification shall be described with the following information: 

a. Brand (i.e., the trade name on the package); 

b. Style (i.e., light, ultra light); 

c. Length in millimeters; 

d. Circumference in millimeters; 

e. Flavor (e.g., menthol, chocolate), if applicable; 

f. Filter or nonfilter; 

g. Package description (e.g., soft pack, box); 

h. Marking approved in accordance with § 7119 of this title. 

i. The name, address and telephone number of the laboratory, if different than the 
manufacturer that conducted the test; and 

j. The date that the testing occurred. 

(b) Such certifications shall be made available to the Attorney General and the Division of Revenue for 
the purposes of ensuring compliance with this section. Each cigarette certified under this section shall be 
recertified every 3 years.  

(c) For each cigarette listed in a certification a manufacturer shall pay to the State Fire Marshal a $250 
fee. The State Fire Marshal shall have the power to adjust this fee to an amount sufficient only to provide 
for processing, testing, enforcement and oversight activities related to this chapter.  

(d) There is hereby established in the custody of the State Comptroller a special nonlapsing fund to be 
known as the "Cigarette Fire Safety and Firefighter Protection Act Enforcement Fund." Such fund shall 
consist of all certification fees submitted by manufacturers, and shall, in addition to any other moneys 
made available for such purpose, be available to the State Fire Marshal's Office and shall be used solely 
to support State processing testing, enforcement and oversight activities related to this chapter. All 
payments from the Cigarette Fire Safety and Firefighter Protection Act Enforcement Fund shall be made 
on the audit and warrant of the State Treasurer on vouchers certified and submitted by the State Fire 
Marshal.  

(e) If a manufacturer has certified a cigarette pursuant to this section, and thereafter makes any 
change to such cigarette that is likely to alter its compliance with the reduced cigarette ignition propensity 
standards required by this chapter, that cigarette shall not be sold or offered for sale in this State until the 
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manufacturer retests the cigarette in accordance with the testing standards set forth in § 7117 of this title 
and maintains records of that retesting as required by § 7117 of this title. Any altered cigarette which 
does not meet the performance standard set forth in § 7117 of this title may not be sold in this State.  

76 Del. Laws, c. 100, § 1.;  

§ 7119. Package markings.  

(a) Cigarettes that are certified by a manufacturer in accordance with § 7118 of this title shall be 
marked to indicate compliance with the requirements of § 7117 of this title. Such marking shall be in 8 
point font type or larger and consist of:  

(1) Modification of the product UPC code to indicate a visible mark printed at or around the area 
of the UPC code. Such mark may consist of alphanumeric or symbolic character or characters 
permanently stamped, engraved, embossed or printed in conjunction with the UPC code; or  

(2) Any visible combination of alphanumeric or symbolic character or characters permanently 
stamped, engraved, or embossed upon the cigarette package or cellophane wrap; or  

(3) Printed, stamped, engraved or embossed test that indicates that the cigarettes meet the 
standards of this section; or 

(4) The letters "FSC", which signifies Fire Standards Compliant appearing in 8 point type or 
larger and permanently printed, stamped, engraved or embossed on the package at or near the UPC 
code.  

(b) A manufacturer must use only 1 marking and must apply this marking uniformly for all packages 
(including, but not limited to, packs, cartons and cases) and brands marketed by that manufacturer.  

(c) The State Fire Marshal must be notified as to the marking that is selected. 

(d) Prior to the certification of any cigarette, a manufacturer shall present its proposed marking to the 
State Fire Marshal for approval. Upon receipt of the request, the State Fire Marshal shall approve or 
disapprove the marking offered, except that the State Fire Marshal shall approve:  

(1) Any marking in use and approved for sale in New York State pursuant to New York Fire 
Safety Standard for Cigarettes, or 

(2) The letters "FSC", which signifies Fire Standards Compliant appearing in 8 point type or 
larger and permanently printed, stamped, engraved or embossed on the package at or near the UPC 
code.  

(e) Proposed markings shall be deemed approved if the State Fire Marshal fails to act within 10 
business days of receiving a request for approved.  

(f) No manufacturer shall modify its approved marking unless the modification has been approved by 
the State Fire Marshal in accordance with this § 7119.  

(g) Manufacturers certifying cigarettes in accordance with § 7118 of this title shall provide a copy of 
such certifications to all wholesale dealers and agents to which they sell cigarettes, and shall also provide 
sufficient copies of an illustration of the package markings utilized by the manufacturer pursuant to this § 
7119 for each retailer to which the wholesale dealers or agents sell cigarettes. Wholesale dealers and 
agents shall provide a copy of these package markings received from manufacturers to all retail dealers 
to which they sell cigarettes. Wholesale dealers, agents and retail dealers shall permit the State Fire 
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Marshal, the Director of the Division of Revenue, the Office of the Attorney General, or employees 
thereof, to inspect markings of cigarette packaging marked in accordance with this section.  

76 Del. Laws, c. 100, § 1.;  

§ 7120. Enforcement and penalties.  

(a) A manufacturer, wholesale dealer, agent or any other person or entity who knowingly sells or offers 
to sell cigarettes, other than through retail sale, in violation of § 7117 of this title shall be subject to a civil 
penalty not to exceed $100 for each pack of such cigarettes sold or offered for sale provided that in no 
case shall the penalty against any such person or entity exceed $100,000 during any 30-day period.  

(b) A retail dealer who knowingly sells or offers to sell cigarettes in violation of § 7117 of this title shall 
be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed $100 for each pack of such cigarettes sold or offered for sale 
provided that in no case shall the penalty against any retail dealer exceed $25,000 during any 30-day 
period.  

(c) In addition to any penalty prescribed by law, any corporation, partnership, sole proprietor, limited 
partnership or association engaged in the manufacture of cigarettes that knowingly makes a false 
certification pursuant to § 7118 of this title shall be subject to a civil penalty of at least $75,000, and not to 
exceed $250,000 for each such false certification.  

(d) Any person violating any other provision in this chapter shall be subject to a civil penalty for a first 
offense not to exceed $1,000, and for a subsequent offense subject to a civil penalty not to exceed 
$5,000, for each such violation.  

(e) Any cigarettes that have been sold or offered for sale that do not comply with the performance 
standard required by § 7117 of this title shall be subject to forfeiture. Cigarettes forfeited pursuant to this 
section shall be destroyed; provided, however, that prior to the destruction of any cigarette forfeited 
pursuant to these provisions, the true holder of the trademark rights in the cigarette brand shall be 
permitted to inspect the cigarette.  

(f) The State Fire Marshal is authorized to enforce this chapter and to promulgate regulations as 
necessary to implement and administer this law.  

(g) The State Fire Marshal may, in consultation with the Director of the Division of Revenue and/or the 
Attorney General, promulgate regulations to conduct random inspections of wholesale dealers, agents, 
and retail dealers to ensure that only cigarettes complying with this chapter are sold in the State.  

(h) In addition to any other remedy provided by the law, the Attorney General may file an action in 
state court for a violation of this chapter, including petitioning for injunctive relief or to recover any costs or 
damages suffered by the State government because of a violation of this section, including enforcement 
costs relating to the specific isolation and attorney's fees. In any such action, the Attorney General shall 
have the same authority to investigate and to obtain remedies if the action were brought (under 
authorizing statutes and authorities). Each violation of this chapter or of the rules adopted under this 
section constitutes a separate civil violation for which the Attorney General may obtain relief.  

(i) Whenever any law-enforcement personnel or duly authorized representative of the State Fire 
Marshal shall discover any cigarettes that have not been marked in the manner required by § 7119 of this 
title, such personnel is hereby authorized and empowered to seize and take possession of such 
cigarettes. Such cigarettes shall be turned over to the Department of Finance, and shall be forfeited to the 
State. Cigarettes seized pursuant to this section shall be destroyed; provided, however, that prior to the 
destruction of any cigarette seized pursuant to these provisions, the true holder of the trademark rights in 
the cigarette brand shall be permitted to inspect the cigarette.  
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76 Del. Laws, c. 100, § 1.;  

§ 7121. Fire Prevention and Public Safety Fund.  

(a) The State Fire Marshal shall assess all civil penalties as outlined in this chapter. 

(b) All civil penalties will be paid within 30 days of assessment. 

(c) The moneys derived from the civil penalties will be split equally between the State Fire Marshal for 
enforcement of this section, and the Fire Detection Fund pursuant to § 6637 of this title.  

76 Del. Laws, c. 100, § 1.;  

§ 7122. Exemptions.  

This chapter shall not be construed to affect the making or manufacturing of cigarillos. A cigarillo shall 
mean a small cigar or cigarette wrapped in tobacco instead of paper.  

76 Del. Laws, c. 100, § 1.;  

§ 7123. Sale outside of Delaware.  

Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to prohibit any person or entity from manufacturing or selling 
cigarettes that do not meet the requirements of § 7117 of this title if the cigarettes are or will be stamped 
for sale in another state or are packaged for sale outside the United States, and that person or entity has 
taken reasonable steps to ensure that such cigarettes will not be sold or offered for sale to persons 
located in this State.  

76 Del. Laws, c. 100, § 1.;  

§ 7124. Effective date.  

This chapter shall take effect on January 1, 2009, and the requirement that only cigarettes certified as 
compliant with the performance standard herein may be sold shall not prohibit wholesale dealers or retail 
dealers from selling their existing inventory of cigarettes on or after January 1, 2009, if the wholesale 
dealer or retailer can establish that state tax stamps were affixed to the cigarettes prior to January 1, 
2009, and if such wholesale dealer or retailer can establish that such inventory was purchased prior to 
January 1, 2009, in comparable quantity to the inventory purchased during the same period of the prior 
year. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to prohibit any person or entity from manufacturing or 
selling cigarettes that do not meet the requirements of § 7117 of this title if such cigarettes are or will be 
stamped for sale in another state or are packaged for sale outside the United States and has taken 
reasonable steps to ensure that such cigarettes will not be sold or offered for sale to persons located in 
this State.  

76 Del. Laws, c. 100, § 1.;  
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16 Delaware Code -  Chapter 88 
 

 Student Dormitories and Student Residential Housing Fire Suppression Systems 
 
§ 8801.  Legislative findings; purpose. 
 

The General Assembly finds and declares that: 
 

(1) Education plays a vital role in the economic development of the nation and the State by providing 
the education and training of the work force of the future; 
 

(2) The safety of students housed in dormitories at boarding schools and at institutions of higher 
education is a vital concern, as these students represent our State's and our country's future; 
 

(3) Automatic fire suppression systems installed in buildings within the State have been a very 
effective method of preventing injury, death and widespread property damaged; and 
 

(4) It shall be deemed to be in the public interest and to have a public purpose to construct, 
reconstruct or renovate, develop and/or improve dormitory safety facilities, including fire prevention, 
smoke and fire alarms, and sprinkler systems. (73 Del. Laws, c. 391, § 1.) 
 
§ 8802. Definitions. 
 

(a) "Common areas" mean those areas within a building which are normally accessible to all 
residents, including the corridors, and lounge or lobby areas, and areas which contain elements of fire 
hazards, such as boiler rooms or storage areas. 
 

(b) "Dormitories" shall mean buildings or portions thereof containing rooms which are provided as 
residences for overnight sleeping for individuals and all residential occupancies for student housing 
owned by the schools, colleges or universities. This definition does not apply to residential occupancies 
used exclusively for staff or faculty residences. 
 (c) "Equipped throughout" means installed in the common areas as well as in the areas utilized for 
sleeping within a dormitory. (73 Del. Laws, c. 391, § 1.) 
 
 
§ 8803. Dormitories to have automatic fire suppression systems, compliance rate. 
 

All buildings used as dormitories, in whole or in part, to house students at a public or private school or 
public or private institution of higher education within the State shall be equipped throughout with an 
automatic fire suppression system in accord with the provisions of this chapter within 7 years of 
enactment. This provision also requires the retrofitting of all existing buildings used as dormitories, in 
whole or in part, which do not have an existing automatic fire suppression system within 7 years of 
enactment. (73 Del. Laws, c. 391, § 1.) 
 
 
§ 8804. Rules and regulations promulgation by State Fire Prevention Commission. 
 

All fire protection systems as required under the provisions of this chapter shall meet the minimum 
standards and specifications of the State Fire Prevention Regulations as promulgated by the State Fire 
Prevention Commission. (73 Del. Laws, c. 391, § 1.) 
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§ 8805. Office of the State Fire Marshal to assist with plan review and technical assistance. 
 

The office of the State Fire Marshal shall assist educational institutions with dormitories in their 
compliance with this act in accord with § 6607(g)(1)(b) of this title. (73 Del. Laws, c. 391, § 1.) 
 
§ 8806. Automatic fire suppression system; penalties for noncompliance. 
 
 Each owner of a dormitory required to comply under this chapter who willfully fails to comply with the 
installation of automatic fire systems pursuant to this chapter, whether an individual or body corporate, 
shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $500 for each offense. The Justice of the Peace Courts 
shall have jurisdiction over any violations of this chapter. (73 Del. Laws, c. 391, § 1.) 
 
§ 8807. Exceptions, claims of negligence. 
 
 Failure to comply with this chapter shall not be considered as evidence of either contributory or 
comparative negligence in any civil suit or insurance claim adjudication arising out of injury or death 
arising from a fire or the direct consequences of a fire; nor shall failure to comply with this chapter to be 
admissible as evidence in any trial of any civil action or insurance claim. (73 Del. Laws, c. 391, § 1.) 
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Appendix C 

 
Cross Reference of Statutes Applicable to Fire Regulations 

Delaware Code cross reference for those sections applicable to the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Regulations.  
 
 

TITLE 7 CONSERVATION 
 

Chapter 5. Regulations and Prohibitions Concerning Game and Fish 
 
§ 713 Fire Regulations, Penalty 
 
 
 
 

TITLE 11 CRIMES AND CRIMINAL PROCEDURE 
 

 Chapter 5. Specific Offenses 
 

§ 501 Criminal Solicitation in the third degree  
§ 502 Criminal Solicitation in the second degree  
§ 503 Criminal Solicitation in the first degree  
§ 511 Conspiracy in the first degree  
§ 512 Conspiracy in the second degree  
§ 513 Conspiracy in the third degree  
§ 531 Attempt to Commit a Crime  
§ 603 Reckless Endangering in the second degree  
§ 604 Reckless Endangering in the first degree  
§ 621 Terroristic Threatening  
§ 622 Hoax Device  
§ 801 Arson in the third degree  
§ 802 Arson in the second degree  
§ 803 Arson in the first degree  
§ 804 Reckless Burning  
§ 805 Cross or Religious Symbol Burning 
§ 843 Theft False Pretense  
§ 846 Extortion  
§ 871 Falsifying Business Records  
§ 913 Insurance Fraud  
§ 1243 Obstructing Fire Fighting Operations  
§ 1244 Hindering Prosecution  
§ 1245 Falsely Reporting an Incident  
§ 1323 Obstructing Public Passages  
§ 1338 Bombs, Incendiary Devices, Molotov Cocktails, and Explosive Devices 
§ 1444 Possessing a Destructive Weapon  
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TITLE 16 HEALTH AND SAFETY 
 

Chapter 64. Amusement Rides Safety Inspection and Insurance Act 
 

§ 6401 Short Title 
§ 6402 Definitions 
§ 6403 Administration; Enforcement 
§ 6404 Amusement Ride Operation Requirements 
§ 6404A Requirements for Commercial Bungee Jumping Operations 
§ 6405 Insurance Filing Requirements 
§ 6406 Insurance Information Request 
§ 6407 Denial of Entry to Amusement Rides 
§ 6408 Injunctions 
§ 6409 Penalties 
 
 

Chapter 65. Fires 
 

 § 6501 Liability for Negligent Burning  
  
 

Chapter 66. Fire Prevention 
 

§ 6601 State Fire Prevention Commission - Appointment; qualifications; cause for removal; term of office; 
members to serve without compensation 

§ 6602 Same - Organizations and Meetings 
§ 6603 Same - Promulgation of Regulations  
§ 6604 Same - Public Hearings and Notices  
§ 6605 Same - Powers in Conduct of Public Hearing  
§ 6606 State Fire Marshal - appointment; term; salary 
§ 6607 State Fire Marshal - Duties and Powers  
§ 6608 Appeals to the State Fire Prevention Commission - Procedure  
§ 6609 Same - Powers upon appeal  
§ 6610 Court Review of decision of State Fire Prevention Commission; procedure  
§ 6611 Maintenance of fire hazard, violations of regulations or chapter; enforcement; remedies and 

penalties  
§ 6612 Annual report; financial statement; budget 
§ 6613 State Fire School - Location; supervision; purposes 
§ 6614 Same - Commission’s powers and duties 
§ 6615 Same - School attendance fees 
§ 6616 Same - Director and employees 
§ 6616A  Same - Liability in the performance of instructional service. 
§ 6617 Same - Building and equipment 
§ 6618 Advisory Boards 
§ 6619 Power of Commission to authorize new fire companies or substations; resolve boundary and 

other disputes; prohibit cessation of necessary fire protection services 
§ 6620 Reports from insurance companies; reports of investigations by Fire Commission 
§ 6621 Injunctive relief 
§ 6622-6624  Residential smoke detectors – Required; installation; penalty. 
§ 6625 Protection of Records 
§ 6631 Smoke Detectors Required 
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§ 6632 Smoke detection installation in one- and two-family dwellings; mobile homes; modular homes; 
townhouses 

§ 6633 Smoke detector installation: other residential occupancies 
§ 6634 Smoke detectors: compliance dates 
§ 6635 Smoke detectors, penalties for noncompliance 
§ 6636 Exceptions: claims of negligence   
§ 6637 Fire Detection Fund   
§ 6638 Definitions  
§ 6639 Initial installation requirements  
§ 6640 Fire alarm signaling monitoring companies  
§ 6641 Testing of fire alarm signaling systems 
§ 6642 Inspection and maintenance of fire alarm signaling systems   
§ 6643 Fire alarm activation    
§ 6644 Excessive false alarm prohibited    
§ 6645 Civil penalties and appeals 
 
 

 
Chapter 69. Fireworks 

 
§ 6901 Selling or possessing fireworks; exceptions  
§ 6902 Discharging rifle or other explosives; exceptions  
§ 6903 Permit for public display of fireworks; actions by injured persons  
§ 6904 Confiscation of illegally stored fireworks or explosives   
 
 

Chapter 70. Storage of Explosives 
 

§ 7001 Signs on premises containing stored explosives  
§ 7002 Exceptions  
§ 7003 Storage within residential district prohibited  
§ 7004 Penalties  
 
 

Chapter 71.  
Sale, Purchase, Receipt, Possession, Transportation, Use, Safety and Control of Explosive 

Materials 
 

§ 7101 Scope  
§ 7102 Definitions  
§ 7103 General Provisions  
§ 7104 Purchase, receipt and possession  
§ 7105 Sale  
§ 7106 Licensed blasters  
§ 7107 Administration  
§ 7108 Authority to purchase in contiguous states  
§ 7109 Records  
§ 7110 Safety  
§ 7111 Notice to affected persons  
§ 7112 Transportation 
§ 7113 Penalties 
§ 7114 Limitation on legislation  
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Chapter 71a. Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarettes 
 

§ 7116. Definitions. 
§ 7117. Test method and performance standard.  
§ 7118. Certification of compliance by manufacturers.  
§ 7119. Package markings.  
§ 7120. Enforcement and penalties.  
§ 7121. Fire Prevention and Public Safety Fund.  
§ 7122. Exemptions.  
§ 7123. Sale outside of Delaware.  
§ 7124. Effective date. 
§ 7125  Effect of Federal regulation.  
 
 

 
Chapter 72. Liquefied Petroleum Gas Containers 

 
§ 7201 Definitions. 
§ 7202 Unlawful use, filling or refilling of containers. 
§ 7203 Presumptive evidence of unlawful use.  
§ 7204 Arrest for violation.  
§ 7205 Penalty and jurisdiction.  
§ 7206 Disposition of fines and costs.  
§ 7207 Nonapplicability to small containers.  
§ 7208 Ownership of liquefied petroleum gas containers. 
 
 

Chapter 73. Products Utilizing Petroleum Derivatives 
 

§ 7301 Selling without fire test; method of testing  
§ 7302 Tests by State Chemist; fees  
§ 7303 Report of test failures to Attorney General  
§ 7304 Civil liability  
§ 7305 Legislative intent  
§ 7306 Definitions  
§ 7307 Sale and use of portable oil-fueled heaters  
§ 7308 Requirements for approved portable oil-fueled heaters  
§ 7309 Storage of kerosene  
§ 7310 Authority of State Fire Prevention Commission 
§ 7311 Penalties; jurisdiction  
§ 7312 Kerosene labeling requirements  
§ 7313 Kerosene inspection, sampling and testing  
§ 7314 Penalties  
  
 

Chapter 75. Fire Escapes and Exits 
 

§ 7501 Buildings requiring fire escapes; exceptions  
§ 7502 Inspections and certificates of compliance; fee 
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§ 7503 Regulation of doors in public places  
§ 7504 Penalties  
  
 

Chapter 88. 
Student Dormitories and Student Residential Housing Fire Suppression Systems 

§ 8801 Legislative Finding; purpose  
§ 8802 Definitions  
§ 8803 Dormitories to have automatic fire suppression systems, compliance rate  
§ 8804 Rules and regulations promulgation by State Fire Prevention Commission  
§ 8805 Office of the State Fire Marshal to assist with plan review and technical assistance 
§ 8806 Automatic fire suppression system; penalties for non compliance  
§ 8807 Exceptions, claims of negligence  
 
 

 
 

TITLE 21 MOTOR VEHICLES 
 

Chapter 70. Fire Lanes 
 

§ 7001 Stopping, standing, or parking in fire lanes; penalty  
§ 7002 Immunity for enforcement; exception 
§ 7003 Owner prima facie responsible  

 
 
 

TITLE 29 STATE GOVERNMENT 
 

 Chapter 82. Department of Safety and Homeland Security 
 

§ 8222 Short title.  Hazardous Materials Transportation Act of 1979 
§ 8223 Declaration of policy; findings and fact  
§ 8224 Definitions  
§ 8225 Adoption of Federal requirements  
§ 8227 Remedies (enforcement State Fire Marshal)  
§ 8228 Penalties  
§ 8229 Exclusive state regulation; general repealer  
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APPENDIX  D 
NFPA Publications For Guidance 

Numerical Listing 
 
The following Standards, Recommendations, Recommended Practices, Manuals, Guides, and Model Laws 
are included here for reference and guidance in the application of the State of Delaware Fire Prevention Rules 
and Regulations when a particular problem is not otherwise covered by a Code, Standard, or Law Provision.  
The Fire Marshal may use the provisions of these Standards, Recommendations, Recommended Practices, 
Manuals, Guides, and Model Laws as appropriate criteria for meeting the intent of the State of Delaware Fire 
Prevention Rules and Regulations in those cases.    
NFPA      DATE OF  
 NO.    PUBLICATION          TITLE                                                                     
 
11C 1995 Mobile Foam Apparatus, Standard for 
43D 1994 Code for the Storage of Pesticides 
46 1996 Recommended Safe Practice for Storage of Forest Products 
49 1994 Hazardous Chemicals Data   
53 2004 Guide on Fire Hazards in Oxygen Enriched Atmospheres   
68 2007 Guide for Venting of Deflagrations  
70B 2006 Recommended Practice for Electrical Equipment Maintenance 
70E 2009 Standard for Electrical Safety Requirements for Employee Workplaces 
77 2007 Recommended Practice on Static Electricity 
80A 2007 Recommended Practice for Protection of Buildings from Exterior Fire Exposures   
85 2007 Boiler and Combustion Systems Hazards Code   
97 1996 Standard Glossary of Terms Relating to Chimneys, Vents, and Heat-Producing Appliances 
99B 2005 Standard for Hypobaric Facilities 
101A 2007 Guide on Alternative Approaches to Life Safety  
105 2007 Standard for the Installation of Smoke Door Assemblies 
115 2008 Standard for Laser Fire Protection 
130 2007 Standard for Fixed Guideway Transit Systems 
203 1995 Guide for Roof Coverings and Roof Deck Construction 
204 2007 Standard for Smoke and Heat Venting 
231E 1996 Recommended Practice for the Storage of Baled Cotton 
232 2007 Standard for Protection of Records 
251 2006 Standard Methods of Tests of Fire Resistance of Building Construction and Materials 
252 2008 Standard Methods of Fire Tests of Door Assemblies  
253 2006 Standard Method of Test for Critical Radiant Flux of Floor Covering Systems Using a Radiant 

Heat Energy Source 
255 2006 Standard Method of Test of Surface Burning Characteristics of Building Materials 
256 2003 Standard Methods of Fire Tests of Roof Coverings 
257 2007 Standard on Fire Test for Window and Glass Block Assemblies 
258 2001 Standard Research Test Method for Determining Smoke Generation of Solid Materials 
259 2009 Standard Test Method for Potential Heat of Building Materials 
260 2009 Standard Methods of Tests and Classification System for Cigarette Ignition Resistance of 

Components of Upholstered Furniture  
261 2009 Standard Method of Test for Determining Resistance of Mock-Up Upholstered Furniture 

Material Assemblies to Ignition by Smoldering Cigarettes  
262 2007 Standard Method of Test for Flame Travel and Smoke of Wires and Cables for Use in Air-

Handling Spaces  
263 1994 Heat and Visible Smoke Release Rates for Materials and Products, Standard Method of Test 

for  
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264 1995 Standard Method of Test of Heat and Visible Smoke Release Rates for Materials and 
Products Using an Oxygen Consumption Calorimeter 

264A 1994 Method of Test for Heat Release Rates for Upholstered Furniture Components or 
Composites and Mattresses Using an Oxygen Consumption Calorimeter 

265 2007 Standard Methods of Fire Tests for Evaluating Room Fire Growth Contribution of Textile 
Coverings on Full Height Panels and Walls 

268 2007 Standard Test Method for Determining Ignitibility of Exterior Wall Assemblies Using a 
Radiant Heat Energy Source 

269 2007 Standard Test Method for Developing Toxic Potency Data for Use in Fire Hazard Modeling 
291 2007 Recommended Practice for Fire Flow Testing and Marking of Hydrants 
295 1991 Standard for Wild Fire Control   
297 1995 Guide on Principles and Practices for Communications Systems 
299 1991 Standard for Protection of Life and Property from Wildfire 
318 2009 Standard for the Protection of Semiconductor Fabrication Facilities 
325 1994 Guide to Fire Hazard Properties of Flammable Liquids, Gases, and Volatile Solids 
328 1992 Recommended Practice for the Control of Flammable and Combustible Liquids and Gases in 

Manholes, Sewers, and Similar Underground Structures 
329 2005 Recommended Practice for Handling Releases of Flammable and Combustible Liquids and 

Gases 
419 1992 Guide for Master Planning Airport Water Supply Systems for Fire Protection 
423 2004 Standard for Construction and Protection of Aircraft Engine Test Facilities 
424 2008 Guide for Airport/Community Emergency Planning 
491M 1991 Manual of Hazardous Chemical Reactions   
497 2008 Recommended Practice for the Classification of Flammable Liquids, Gases, or Vapors and 

of Hazardous (Classified) Locations for Electrical Installations in Chemical Process Areas  
497M 1991 Manual for Classification of Gases, Vapors, and Dusts for Electrical Equipment in Hazardous 

(Classified) Locations 
499 2008 Recommended Practice for the Classification of Combustible Dusts and of Hazardous 

(Classified) Locations for Electrical Installations in Chemical Process Areas 
512 1994 Standard for Truck Fire Protection 
555 2009  Guide on Methods for Evaluating Potential for Room Flashover 
600 2005 Standard on Industrial Fire Brigades 
601 2005 Standard for Security Service in Fire 
701 2004 Standard Methods of Fire Tests for Flame Propagation of Textiles and Films 
705 2009 Recommended Practice for a Field Flame Test for Textiles and Films 
801 2008 Standard for Facilities Handling Radioactive Materials 
802 1993 Recommended Practice for Fire Protection for Nuclear Research and Production Reactors 
803 1993 Standard for Fire Protection for Light Water Nuclear Power Plants 
804 2006 Standard for Fire Protection for Advanced Light Water Reactor Electric Generating Plants 
805 2006 Performance-Based Standard for Fire Protection for Light Water Reactor Electric Generating 

Plants 
820 2008 Standard for Fire Protection in Wastewater Treatment and Collection Facilities 
850 2005 Recommended Practice for Fire Protection for Electric Generating Plants and High Voltage 

Direct Current Converter Stations 
851 2005 Recommended Practice for Fire Protection for Hydroelectric Generating Plants 
901 2006 Standard Classifications for Incident Reporting and Fire Protection Data 
914 2007 Code for Fire Protection of Historic Structures 
1141 2008 Standard for Fire Protection in Planned Building Groups  
1600 2007 Standard on Disaster/Emergency Management and Business Continuity Programs 
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 APPENDIX  D 
NFPA Publications For Guidance  

Alphabetical Listing 
  
 
The following Standards, Recommendations, Recommended Practices, Manuals, Guides and Model Laws 
are included here for reference and guidance in the application of the State of Delaware Fire Prevention Rules 
and Regulations when a particular problem is not otherwise covered by a Code, Standard, or Law Provision.  
The Fire Marshal may use the provisions of these Standards, Recommendations, Recommended Practices, 
Manuals, Guides and Model Laws as appropriate criteria for meeting the intent of the State of Delaware Fire 
Prevention Rules and Regulations in those cases. 
 
NFPA     DATE OF  
 NO.   PUBLICATION         TITLE                                                                     
 
423 2004 Aircraft Engine Test Facilities, Standard for Construction and Protection of 
424 2008 Airport/Community Emergency Planning, Guide for 
419 1992 Airport Water Supply Systems for Fire Protection, Guide for Master Planning  
101A 2007 Alternative Approaches to Life Safety, Guide on 
231E 1996 Baled Cotton, Recommended Practice for the Storage of 
85 2007 Boiler and Combustion Systems Hazards Code 
251 2006 Building Construction and Materials, Standard Methods of Tests of Fire Resistance of 
259 2003 Building Materials, Standard Test Method for Potential Heat of 
255 2006 Building Materials, Standard Method of Test of Surface Burning Characteristics of 
491M 1991 Chemical Reactions, Hazardous, Manual of 
49 1994 Chemicals Data, Hazardous  
97 1996 Chimneys, Vents, and Heat-Producing Appliances, Standard Glossary of Terms Relating to  
260 2009 Cigarette Ignition Resistance of Components of Furniture, Standard Methods of Tests and 

Classification System for 
297 1995 Communications Systems, Guide on Principals and Practices for 
1600 2007 Standard on Disaster/Emergency Management and Business Continuity Programs 
252 2008 Door Assemblies, Standard Methods of Fire Tests of 
497M 1991 Electrical Equipment in Hazardous (Classified) Locations, Manual for Classification of Gases, 

Vapors, and Dusts for 
70B 2006 Electrical Equipment Maintenance, Recommended Practice for 
850 2005 Electric Generating Plants and High Voltage Direct Current Converter Stations, 

Recommended Practice for Fire Protection for 
804 2006 Electric Generating Plants, Standard for Fire Protection for Advanced Light Water Reactor 
805 2006 Reactor Electric Generating Plants, Performance-Based Standard for Fire Protection for 

Light Water 
497 2008 Electrical Installations in Chemical Process Areas, Recommended Practice for the 

Classification of Flammable Liquids, Gases, or Vapors and of Hazardous (Classified) 
Locations for 

499 2008 Recommended Practice for the Classification of Combustible Dusts and of Hazardous 
(Classified) Locations for Electrical Installations in Chemical Process Areas 

70E 2009 Electrical Safety Requirements for Employee Workplaces, Standard for 
80A 2007 Exterior Fire Exposures, Recommended Practice for Protection of Buildings from  
268 2007 Exterior Wall Assemblies, Standard Test Method for Determining Ignitibility of, Using a 

Radiant Heat Energy Source 
705 2009 Field Flame Test for Textiles and Films, Recommended Practice for a  
269 2007 Fire Hazard Modeling, Standard Test Method for Developing Toxic Potency Data for Use in 
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329 2005 Flammable and Combustible Liquids and Gases, Recommended Practice for Handling 
Releases of  

328 1992 Flammable and Combustible Liquids and Gases in Manholes, Sewers, and Similar 
Underground Structures, Recommended Practice for the Control of 

325 1994 Flammable Liquids, Gases, Volatile Solids, Guide to Fire Hazard Properties of 
555 2009 Flashover, Room, Guide on Methods for Evaluating Potential for 
253 2006 Floor Covering Systems Using a Radiant Heat Energy Source, Standard Method of Test for 

Critical Radiant Flux of 
46 1996 Forest Products, Recommended Safe Practice for Storage of 
263 1994 Heat and Visible Smoke Release Rates for Materials and Products, Standard Method of Test 

for  
264 1995 Heat and Visible Smoke Release Rates for Materials and Products Using an Oxygen 

Consumption Calorimeter, Standard Method of Test for 
914 2007 Historic Structures, Code for Fire Protection of 
291 2007 Hydrants, Recommended Practice for Fire Flow Testing and Marking of 
851 2005 Hydroelectric Generating Plants, Recommended Practice for Fire Protection for 
99B 2005 Hypobaric Facilities, Standard for 
901 2006 Incident Reporting and Fire Protection Data, Standard Classifications for 
261 2009 Ignition by Smoldering Cigarettes, Standard Method of Test for Determining Resistance of 

Mock-Up Upholstered Furniture Material Assemblies to  
600 2005 Industrial Fire Brigades, Standard on 
115 2008 Laser Fire Protection, Standard for 
11C 1995 Mobile Foam Apparatus, Standard for 
803 1993 Nuclear Power Plants, Light Water, Standard for Fire Protection for  
802 1993 Nuclear Research and Production Reactors, Recommended Practice 
53 2004 Oxygen Enriched Atmospheres, Guide on Fire Hazards in 
43D 1994 Pesticides, Code for the Storage of 
1141 2008 Planned Building Groups, Standard for Fire Protection in 
801 2008 Radioactive Materials, Standard for Facilities Handling 
232 2007 Standard for Protection of Records 
203 1995 Roof Coverings and Roof Deck Construction, Guide on 
256 2003 Roof Coverings, Standard Methods of Fire Tests of 
601 2005 Security Service in Fire Loss Prevention, Standard for 
318 2009 Semiconductor Fabrication Facilities, Standard for the Protection of 
105 2007 Smoke Door Assemblies, Standard for the Installation of 
204 2007 Smoke and Heat Venting, Standard for 
258 2001 Smoke Generation of Solid Materials, Standard Research Test for Determining  
77 2007 Static Electricity, Recommended Practice on 
265 2007 Standard Methods of Fire Tests for Evaluating Room Fire Growth Contribution of Textile 

Coverings on Full Height Panels and Walls 
701 2004 Textiles and Films, Standard Methods of Fire Tests for Flame Propagation of 
130 2007 Transit Systems, Fixed Guideway, Standard for 
512 1994 Truck Fire Protection, Standard for 
264A 1994 Upholstered Furniture Components or Composites and Mattresses Heat Release Rates for 
68 2007 Venting of Deflagrations, Guide for 
820 2008 Wastewater Treatment and Collection Facilities, Standard for Fire Protection in 
295 1991 Wild Fire Control, Standard for 
299 1991 Wildfire, Standard for Protection of Life and Property from 
262 2007 Wires and Cables for Use in Air-Handling Spaces, Standard Method of Test for Flame Travel 

and Smoke of 
257 2007 Window and Glass Block Assemblies, Standard on Fire Test for 
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Appendix E 

 
Permits, Licenses, and Other Fees 

 
Amusement Ride Fees.  The cost of any fee for amusement rides shall be $20.00 per year, not to 
exceed a total of $100.00. (16 Del. C. §6403) 
 
Blaster’s License.  The cost of a Blaster’s License shall be $10.00 per year. (16 Del. C. §7107(b)). 
 
Certificate Of Inspection For Fire Alarm Signaling Systems Fees.  The cost of an Annual Certificate 
of Inspection shall be as follows: 
 
 (a) Apartment or other multi-family dwellings: 
 
  (1) Five (5) or less buildings per complex:  $25.00 for each fire alarm system; 
 

The term “complex” as is referenced in these portions of the Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulation, 
is to indicate apartments or multi-family buildings that are located in the same general geographic area 
and owned by the same individual(s) or management group or other business entity. 

 

 
  (2) More than five (5) buildings per complex:  $15.00 for each fire alarm system up to a 
maximum of twenty (20) buildings.  Maximum fee per complex not to exceed $300.00 for fire alarm 
systems. 
 
 (b) All other occupancies - $25.00 per system 
 
(16 Del. C. §6607(g)(5)c.). 
 
Certificate Of Inspection For Fire Suppression Systems Fees.  The cost of an Annual Certificate of 
Inspection shall be as follows: 
 
 (a) Apartment or other multi-family dwellings: 
 
  (1) Five (5) or less buildings per complex:  $25.00 for each fire suppression system; 
 

The term “complex” as is referenced in these portions of the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Regulation, is to indicate apartments or multi-family buildings that are located in the same general 
geographic area and owned by the same individual(s) or management group or other business entity. 

 

  (2) More than five (5) buildings per complex:  $15.00 for each fire suppression system up to a 
maximum of twenty (20) buildings. Maximum fee per complex not to exceed $300.00 for fire suppression 
systems. 
 
 (b) All other occupancies - $25.00 per system 
 
(16 Del. C. §6607(g)(5)c.). 
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Explosives Storage.  The cost of a license to store explosives shall be $10.00 per year. (16 Del. C. 
§7101(b)). 
 
Fire Alarm Central Station, Remote Station, or Monitoring Service or Company License. The cost of 
an annual license for a Fire Alarm Central Station, Remote Station, or Monitoring Service or Company 
shall be $25.00. 
 
Fire Alarm Signaling System Company License. The cost of an annual license for a Fire Alarm 
Signaling System Company shall be $25.00. 
 
Fire Alarm Signaling System Certificate Holder. The cost of an annual certificate for a CERTIFICATE 
HOLDER of a Fire Alarm Signaling System Company shall be $25.00. 
 
Fire Suppression System Company License. The cost of an annual license for a Fire Suppression 
System Company shall be $25.00. 
 
Fire Suppression System Certificate Holder. The cost of an annual certificate for a CERTIFICATE 
HOLDER of a Fire Suppression System Company shall be $25.00. 
 
In-House License Fees.  Where a Fire Alarm Signaling System In-House or Fire Suppression System 
In-House License is issued, a maximum of $100.00 per Fire Alarm Signaling or Fire Suppression System 
shall be charged for each system serviced by the system owner (16 Del. C. §6607 (g)(5)a.) 
 
Licenses/Permits That Require An On-Site Inspection Prior To Issuing A License Or Permit. $25.00 
per license or permit. (16 Del. C. §6607(g)(5)c.). 
 
Licenses/Permits That Do Not Require An On-Site Inspection Prior To Issuing A License Or 
Permit. $10.00 per license or permit. (16 Del. C. §6607(g)(5)c.). 
 
License To Service Portable Fire Extinguishers. The cost of a License to service portable fire 
extinguishers shall be $50.00 per year (16 Del. C. §6607(g)(5)b.). 
 
Plan Review User Fee Schedule.  The State Fire Marshal, under the provisions 16 Del. C. §6607(g)(1) - 
§6607(g)(4), hereby establishes the below listed Plan Review User Fee to be paid by the submitter of 
plans to the State of Delaware, Office of State Fire Marshal. 
 
 (a) Effective July 1, 2009:  .007/.003 
 
7/10 of 1% of construction costs up to the first million dollars of construction costs. 
 
3/10 of 1% of construction costs in excess of one million dollars of construction costs. 
 
Minimum Plan Review Fee of $150.00 on all plans. 
 
 (b) Sub-Division Plan Reviews 
 
  1. Major Subdivisions - $150.00 
  2. Minor Subdivisions - $150.00 
 
 (c) Special Fees For Warehouses 
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When calculating the fee schedule for warehouses and similar low use buildings, the submitter shall have 
the choice of using the fee schedule listed in A and B above or, he may use the following calculation: 
 

Gross Square Footage X $30 = Construction Cost 
 
Then apply the percentages listed in A and B above to this calculated construction cost. 
 
 (d) Revision Of Fees. 
 
The fees as authorized by 16 Del. C. §6607 shall be the maximum allowed by the State Fire Prevention 
Commission, and shall be reviewed every two years. 

 
 

Detailed Fee List 
 

Annual Certificate/License Required 
 

Annual Certificate/License Annual Fee 
 
Covered Malls  $ 25.00 
 
Explosives   $ 10.00 
 
Fire Alarm Central Station,  
Remote Station, or Monitoring  
Service or Company License         $25.00        
 
Fire Alarm Certificate Holder $ 25.00 
 
Fire Alarm Certificate of  
Inspection per System $ 25.00 
Exception: Apartment or other multi-family dwellings: 
 (1) Five (5) or less buildings per complex:  $25.00 for each fire alarm system; 

 (2) More than five (5) buildings per complex:  $15.00 for each fire alarm system up to a 
maximum of twenty (20) buildings. Maximum fee per complex not to exceed $300.00 for fire alarm 
systems. 

 
Fire Alarm Company License $ 25.00 
 
Fire Extinguisher License $ 50.00 
 
Fire Suppression Certificate Holder $ 25.00 
 
Fire Suppression Certificate of  
Inspection per System $ 25.00 
Exception: Apartment or other multi-family dwellings: 
  (1)  Five (5) or less buildings per complex:  $25.00 for each fire suppression  system; 
 (2)   More than five (5) buildings per complex:  $15.00 for each fire suppression system up to a 
maximum of twenty (20) buildings.  Maximum fee per complex not to exceed $300.00 for fire suppression 
systems. 
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Fire Suppression Company License $ 25.00 
 
Fireworks Shooters $ 25.00 
 
Flammable/Combustible Liquids $ 25.00 
 
Fun House   $ 25.00 
 
In-House Fire Alarm Signaling 
System License (per system) $100.00 
 
In-House Fire Suppression 
System License (per system) $100.00 
 
Liquified Petroleum Gas $ 25.00 
 
Places of Assembly $ 25.00 
 
Public Accommodations $ 25.00 
 
 

Permit Required For Single Event 
 

Single Event  Event Fee 
 
Amusement Rides $ 20.00 per ride 
 (Not to exceed $100.00) 
 
Amusement Attraction $ 25.00 
 
Bowling Lanes  $ 25.00 
 
Burning    $ 25.00 
 
Exhibits, Craft, Trade Shows $ 25.00 
 
Explosives   $ 25.00 
 
Fireworks   $ 25.00 
 
Impairment of Fire Protection $ 25.00 
 
Place of Assembly Special Events $ 25.00 
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Appendix F - Table One 
Owner Performed 

Testing, Inspection, and Maintenance of Fire Suppression Systems As Required  by  
Regulation 703, Chapter 1 and the Standard for the Inspection, Testing, and Maintenance  

of Water-Based Fire Protection Systems NFPA 25, 2008 Edition 
 
This brief summary of periodic tests, inspections, and maintenance is not all inclusive, and, to assist in the 
performance of these services, the user is advised to purchase the applicable documents from NFPA (1-800-344-
3555).  These periodic tests, inspections, and maintenance may be performed by the owner or the owner’s 
maintenance staff.  A log book must be maintained by the owner for each system.  The log book must include the 
date the service was performed, the type of service performed, and the person performing the service.  An asterisk (*) 
denotes servicing which must be performed at least annually (once a year) by a company licensed by the Office of 
State Fire Marshal, Licensing Division, (302) 739-4394. 
 
 
Item Activity Frequency Service Section # 
General 
Gauges, Pressure Inspection *Monthly Wet System §5.2.4 
 *Weekly Dry, Preaction, Deluge Systems §5.2.4 

Control Valves Inspection *Weekly Valves (not supervised or secured) §13.3.2.1 
  *Monthly supervised and secured Valves §13.3.2.1.1
 Testing *Annual  Operated though its full range §13.3.3.1 

Alarm Devices Testing *Semiannual Vane type devices §5.3.3.  
 Testing *Quarterly Wet System: flow water thru inspectors test §5.3.3.3  
   Dry/Preaction/Deluge: use bypass connection §5.3.3.5 

Fire Dept Conn. Inspection *Quarterly Visible, accessible, operating condition §13.7.1 

Alarm Valves Inspection *Monthly Free of damage, leakage, in proper position §13.4.1.1 

Backflow Prevention Assemblies     
Reduced Pressure Inspection *Weekly Differential sensing valve relief port §13.6.1.2       
R.P. Detector Inspection *Weekly Differential sensing valve relief port §13.6.1.2      Main 
Drain Testing *Quarterly Test to check condition of water supply §13.6.1       Water 
Flow Alarm Testing *Quarterly Test in accordance with manufacturer §13.2.7 

Preaction/Deluge Valves 
Enclosure Inspection Daily In cold weather only, maintain 40 degrees §13.4.3.1 
Valve Exterior Inspection *Monthly Free of damage, leakage, trim valves set §13.4.3.1.6 

  properly, electrical components operational 

Dry Valves/Quick-Opening Devices 
Enclosure Inspection Daily In cold weather only, maintain 40 degrees §13.4.4.1.1 
Valve Exterior Inspection *Monthly Free of damage, leakage, trim valves set §13.4.4.1.4 

  properly, electrical components operational 

Pressure Regulating and Relief Valves Sprinkler System Inspection
 *Quarterly Valves open, no leakage, proper pressure §13.5.1.1 
Hose Connection Inspection *Quarterly Valves okay, no leakage, all parts present §13.5.2.1      
Hose Rack Inspection *Quarterly Valves okay, no leakage §13.5.3.1 

  Fire Pump Relief Valves 

  Circulation Inspection *Weekly Water flows thru valve at churn §13.5.6.1 
    Pressure Inspection *Weekly Water flows thru valve at rated pressure §13.5.6.2 
Standpipes  
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Piping Inspection *Quarterly All parts present, operable, in good condition §6.2.1 
 Inspection Monthly See Table 6.1 §6.2.1 
Hose Valve Inspection *Quarterly All parts present & in good condition §13.5.6.1        
Outlets Inspection Monthly See Table 6.1 §13.5.6.1 

Fire Pumps 
Pump House Inspection *Weekly In cold weather, see Tables 8.1 §8.1  
System Inspection *Weekly See Table 8.5.3 §8.2 

Pump Operation 
No Flow Testing *Weekly Electric: auto start and run 10 minutes min. §8.3.1 
   Diesel: auto start and run 30 minutes min. §8.3.1 

Foam Water Sprinkler System 
Discharge Devices Inspection *Monthly No damage/corrosion, in place w/proper aim §11.2.5 
Strainer Inspection *Quarterly Blow-down Valve, blankets/screens  §11.2.9.2 

Drainage Inspection *Quarterly Free of blockage, embankments good repair §11.2.8 

Fittings/Piping Inspection *Quarterly No damage/corrosion/missing parts §11.2.3 

Hangers/Support Inspection *Quarterly No damage/corrosion, attachments secure §11.2.4 

Foam Water Sprinkler Proportioning System 
Standard Pressure Inspection *Monthly No corrosion, ball drip valves free/opened §11.2.9.5.1 

Bladder Tank Inspection *Monthly No corrosion, water control valves in position §11.2.9.5.2 

Line Proportioner Inspection *Monthly No corrosion, pressure vacuum vent operable §11.2.9.5.3 

Standard Balanced Inspection *Monthly Pressure vacuum vent, sensing lines, gauges §11.2.9.5.4 

In-Line Balanced Inspection *Monthly Pressure vacuum vent, sensing lines, gauges §11.2.9.5.5 

Orifice Plate Inspection *Monthly Pressure vacuum vent, sensing lines, gauges §11.2.9.5.6 
 

Private Fire Service Mains 
Hose House Inspection Quarterly Accessible, free of damage, all parts present  §7.2.2.7 
 Maintenance Annually Hoses and all parts in usable condition §7.4.1 
Hydrant House Inspection Quarterly Accessible, free of damage, all parts present  §7.2.2.7
 Maintenance Annually Hoses and all parts in usable condition §7.2.2.7 

Hydrant: Wall/Dry Inspection Annually Accessible, no water in barrel, operable §7.2.2.4 
 Testing Annually Flow Test, minimum one minute §7.3.2
 Maintenance Annually Lubricate stems, caps, plugs, threads §7.4.2 

Hydrant: Wet Inspection Annually Accessible, free of damage, operable §7.2.2.5 
 Testing Annually Flow Test, minimum one minute §7.3.2
 Maintenance Annually Lubricate stems, caps, plugs, threads §7.4.2 

Monitor Nozzle Inspection 2 Times/Year Free of damage, no leakage, no corrosion  §7.2.2.6 
 Testing Annually Full range oscillation and movement §7.3.3 
 Testing Annually When attached to hydrants, per NFPA 25 §7.3.3.1
 Maintenance Annually Lubricate §7.4.3 
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Mainline Strainer Inspection Annually Clean, free of damage and corrosion §7.2.2.3 
 Maintenance Annually Clean annually & after each use §7.5.1 
Piping: 
 Exposed Inspection Annually Free of damage, no leakage, no corrosion §7.2.2.1 
 Testing Every 5 Years Fire Flow Test for internal conditions §7.3.1 
Underground Testing Every 5 Years Fire Flow Test for internal conditions §7.3.1 

Water Spray Fixed System 
Drainage Inspection Monthly Free of blockage, embankments good repair §10.2.8 
Fittings/Piping Inspection *Quarterly No damage/corrosion/rust/missing parts §10.2.4.1 
Hangers/Support Inspection *Quarterly No damage/corrosion/rust/missing parts §10.2.4.2 
Heat/Valve Room Inspection *Monthly Maintain 40 degrees F §10.2.1.5
 Inspection Weekly In cold weather, inspect daily §10.2.1.5 
Nozzles Inspection *Monthly No damage/corrosion, in place w/proper aim §10.2.1 

Strainers Inspection *Per Mfr Flushed clear after each operation or test §10.2.7 

Water Storage Tanks 

Condition/Level Inspection Monthly In cold weather only §9.2.1 
    Level Maintenance Monthly regardless if water level alarm is provided §9.3 
    Level Alarm Testing *2 Times/Year High and Low water level alarms tested §9.3.5 
Heating System Inspection Daily In cold weather only §9.2.6.6 

Temperature Inspection Daily In cold weather only maintain 40 degrees F §9.2.3.2 

Low Alarm Testing *Monthly Where provided, test in cold weather §9.3.3 

High Alarm Testing Monthly In cold weather, test limit switches §9.3.4 
Air Pressure Inspection *Monthly In pressure tanks  §9.2.2.2 

Tank Exterior, Inspection *Quarterly  Free of damage, no leakage, sound structure §9.2.5.1 

Tank Area/Yard Inspection Quarterly Free of combustibles, corrosion, erosion, ice §9.2.5.2 

Hoops/Grillage Inspection Annually In wooden tanks, no damage/deterioration §9.2.5.4 

Tank Surface Inspection Annually Paint/Coat/Insulation no damage/deterioration §9.2.5.5
 Maintenance Per Mfr Repaint steel tanks per manufacturer §9.6.1 

Tank Support Maintenance *Per Mfr Embankment Supported Rubberized Fabric §9.4.6  

Expansion Joints Inspection *Annually Where provided, no leaks, no cracks §9.2.5 

Sediment Maintenance *2 Times/Year Drain and/or flush tank §9.4.5 

 
Inspection: A visual examination to verify an item is in operating condition and free of physical damage. 
Testing: A procedure used to determine the status of a system operating as intended by conducting physical checks. 
Maintenance: Work performed to keep equipment operable or to make repairs. 
 
*Servicing may be performed by an owner, but must be performed at least annually by a licensed company 
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Appendix F Table Two 
Licensed Company Required 

Testing, Inspection, and Maintenance of Fire Suppression Systems As Required by 
 Regulation 703, Chapter 1 and the Standard for the Inspection, Testing, and  
Maintenance of Water-Based Fire Protection Systems NFPA 25, 2008 Edition 

 
This brief summary of periodic tests, inspections, and maintenance is not all inclusive, and, to assist in the 
performance of these services, the user is advised to purchase the applicable documents from NFPA (1-800-344-
3555).  These periodic services must be performed by a company licensed by the Office of State Fire Marshal, 
Licensing Division, (302) 739-4394.  A log book must be maintained by the licensed company for each system.  The 
log book must include the date the service was performed, the type of service performed, and the person performing 
the service.  An asterisk (*) denotes servicing which may be performed by an owner, but must be performed at least 
annually (once a year) by a licensed company. A licensed company must forward a Certificate of Inspection to the 
Office of State Fire Marshal within 30 days of the annual inspection. 
  
Item Activity Frequency Service Section # 
General 
Gauges, Pressure Inspection *Monthly Wet System §5.2.4.1 
  *Weekly Dry, Preaction, Deluge Systems §5.2.4.2 
 Testing Every 5 Years Calibration Test §5.3.2 
Control Valves Inspection *Weekly Valves (not supervised or secured) §12.3.2.1 
  *Monthly Supervised/Secured Valves & Tamper Sws. §12.3.2.1 
 Testing Annually Operate Valve - full range of motion §12.3.3 
 Maintenance Annually Oil/grease valve stems, open & close §12.4.1.3 
Alarm Devices Inspection *Quarterly Free of damage/all connections secure §5.3.3 
 Testing *Quarterly Wet System: flow water thru inspectors test §5.3.3.3 
   Dry/Preaction/Deluge: use bypass connection §5.3.3.5 
Hangars Inspection Annually Inspect for damaged or loose hangars §5.2.3 
 Piping Inspection Annually No damage, leakage, corrosion, etc. §5.2.2 
Sprinklers/Standard Inspection Annually No corrosion, obstructions, paint, etc. §5.2.1.1 
 Testing After 50 Years Submit samples to lab for operational test §5.3.1.1.1 
 Testing +10 Years Repeat Every 10 years thereafter 
       Fast Response Testing After 20 Years Submit samples to lab for operational test §5.3.1.1.1.2 
 Testing +10 Years Repeat Every 10 years thereafter 
        High Temp. Testing  Every 5 Years Submit samples to lab for operational test §5.3.1.1.1.3 
FD Connection Inspection *Quarterly Visible, accessible, operating condition §13.7.  
Alarm Valves Inspection *Monthly Free of damage, leakage, in proper position §13.4.1.1 
Inspection Every 5 Years Internal inspection §13.4.1.2    
Check Valves Inspection Every 5 Years Internal inspection §13.4.2.1 
Backflow Prevention Assemblies  

Reduced Pressure Inspection *Weekly Differential sensing valve relief port §13.6.1.2  
R.P. Detector Inspection *Weekly Differential sensing valve relief port §13.6.1.2 
Entire Assembly Testing Annually Test in accordance with AHJ procedures §13.6.2, 
Main Drain Testing *Quarterly Test to check condition of water supply §13.2.6 
Water Flow Alarm Testing *Quarterly Test in accordance with manufacturer §13.2.6 
Preaction/Deluge Valves 
Valve Exterior Inspection *Monthly No damage, trim valves set properly, etc. §13.4.3.1.6 
Valve Interior Inspection Annually Internal inspection §13.4.3.1.7 
Strainers/Filters Inspection Every 5 Years Internal inspection §13.4.3.1.8 

Priming Water Testing Quarterly Test levels per manufacturer’s instructions §13.4.3.2.1 
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Low Press Alarm Testing Quarterly Test per manufacturer’s instructions §13.4.3.2.12 
Full Flow Test Testing Annually In warm weather, test per manufacturer §13.4.3.2.2 
Valves Testing Annually During Full Flow Test, clean & repair interior §13.4.3.3.2 
Dry Valves/Quick-Opening Devices (Q.O.D.) 
Valve Exterior Inspection *Monthly No damage, trim valves set properly, etc. §13.4.4.1.4 
Valve Interior  Inspection Annually Internal Inspection §13.4.4.1.5 
Strainers/Filters Inspection Every 5 Years Internal inspection §13.4.4.1.6 
Priming Water Testing Quarterly Test levels per manufacturer’s instructions §13.4.4.2.1 
Low Air Alarm Testing Quarterly Test per manufacturer’s instructions §13.4.4.2.6 
Q.O.D. Testing Quarterly Test per manufacturer’s instructions §13.4.4.2.4 
 Maintenance Annually During Trip Test, clean & repair interior §13.4.4.3.2 
Trip Test Testing Annually In warm weather, test w/valve partially open §13.4.4.2.2  
Full Flow Test Testing Every 3 Years In warm weather, test w/valve fully open §13.4.4.2.2.2 
Pressure Regulating and Relief Valves 
Sprinkler System Inspection *Quarterly Valves open, no leakage, proper pressure §13.5.1.1 
   Testing Annually Flow test on each valve §13.5.1.2 
Hose Connection Inspection *Quarterly Valves okay, no leakage, all parts present §13.5.2.1 
Hose Rack Inspection *Quarterly Valves okay, no leakage §13.5.3.1 
Fire Pump Relief Valves 
 Circulation Inspection *Weekly Water flows thru valve at churn §13.5.6.1 
    Pressure Inspection *Weekly Water flows thru valve at rated pressure §13.5.6.2 
Circulation Testing Annually Valve closes per manufacturer's listing §13.5.6.1.2 
Pressure Relief Testing Annually Valve adjusted during Annual Fire Pump Test §13.5.6.2.2 
Hose Connections Testing Every 5 Years Full Flow Test per manufacturer §13.5.2.2 
Hose Rack Testing Every 5 Years Full Flow Test per manufacturer §13.5.3.2 
Obstruction Maintenance Every 5 Years Investigate to ensure piping is free of debris 14.2.2 
Anti-Freeze Testing Annually Measure specific gravity of solution §5.3.4   

Standpipes 
Hose Valve Outlet Inspection *Quarterly All parts present & in good condition §6.2.1 
Piping Inspection *Quarterly All parts present, operable, in good condition §6.2.1 
Cabinet Inspection Annually All parts present, operable, in good condition §6.2.1 
Hose  Inspection Annually All parts present, operable, in good condition §6.2.1  
 Testing Every 5 Years Per NFPA 1962 §6.3 
 Testing  Every 3 Years Per NFPA 1962 §6.3 
Hose Storage  Inspection Annually All parts present, operable, in good condition §6.2.1  
 Testing Annually Test for smooth operation §6.3 
Hose Nozzle Testing Annually Test for smooth operation §6.3 
Hydrostatic Testing Every 5 Years 200 psi for 2 hours §6.3.2.1 
Water Supply Testing Every 5 Years Flow designed volume, pressure @ remote §6.3.1.1  
Fire Pumps 
Pump House Inspection *Weekly In cold weather, see Tables 8.1 & 8.5.3 §8.2.2  
System Inspection *Weekly See Table 8.5.3 §8.2.2 
Pump Operation 
No Flow Testing *Weekly Electric: auto start and run 10 minutes min. §8.3.1.2 
   Diesel: auto start and run 30 minutes min. §8.3.1.3 
    Flow Testing Annually Annual Flow Test §8.3.3 
Hydraulics, Maintenance Annually Establish preventive maintenance program, §8.5.3.4 
Transmission, Electrical  per manufacturer’s instructions, on all                                           
Controller, Motor, and Diesel Parts                                 components of the pump assembly  
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Foam Water Sprinkler System 
Discharge Devices Inspection *Monthly No damage/corrosion, in place w/proper aim §11.2.5 
 Testing Annually Discharge patterns/proper location/position §11.3.3.6 
Strainer Inspection *Quarterly Blow-down Valve, blankets/screens  §11.2.7 
 Testing Annually After each test/remove/clean baskets/screens §11.2.7.1 
 Maintenance Annually Inspect and clean after each test §11.4 
Drainage Inspection *Quarterly Free of blockage, embankments good repair §11.2.9 
Fittings/Piping Inspection *Quarterly No damage/corrosion/missing parts §11.2.3 
Hangers/Support Inspection *Quarterly No damage/corrosion, attachments secure §11.-2.4 
Complete System Testing Annually Full Automatic & Manual Operational Test §11.3.2 
Concentrate SampleTesting Annually During Annual Test, refractometric check §11.3.5 

Maintenance Annually During Annual Test, submit sample per mfr §11.2.10 
Pump Maintenance Monthly Pump run, circulate foam, maintenance/mfr §11.4.1 
Foam Water Sprinkler Proportioning System 
Standard Pressure Inspection *Monthly No corrosion, ball drip valves free/opened §11.2.9.5.1 
 Maintenance Every 5 Years Disassemble/clean/reassemble ball drip valves §11.4.3 
 Maintenance Every 10 Years Drain/flush tank, hydro test §11.4.3 
Bladder Tank Inspection *Monthly No corrosion, water control valves in position §11.2.9.5.2
 Maintenance Every 10 Years Remove/clean sight glass, hydro test §11.4.4 
Line Proportioner Inspection *Monthly No corrosion, pressure vacuum vent operable §11.2.9.5.3
 Maintenance Every 10 Years Drain/flush tank, tank/piping corrosion check §11.4.5 
Standard Balanced Inspection *Monthly Pressure vacuum vent, sensing lines, gauges §11.2.9.5.4
 Maintenance Every 5 Years Flush valves, pump/drive train/driver per mfr §11.4.6 
In-Line Balanced Inspection *Monthly Pressure vacuum vent, sensing lines, gauges §11.2.9.5.5
 Maintenance Every 5 Years Flush valves, pump/drive train/driver per mfr §11.4.7
 Maintenance Every 10 Years Internally inspect tank for corrosion §11.4.7 
Orifice Plate Inspection *Monthly Pressure vacuum vent, sensing lines, gauges §11.2.9.5.6 
Water Spray Fixed System 
Fittings/Piping Inspection *Monthly No damage/corrosion/rust/missing parts §10.2.1&10.2.4.1 
Hangers/Support Inspection *Monthly No damage/corrosion/rust/missing parts §10.2.4.2 
Heat/Valve Room Inspection *Monthly Maintain 40 degrees F §10.2.1.5 
Nozzles Inspection *Monthly No damage/corrosion, in place w/proper aim §10.2.1 / 10.2.5 
\Strainers Inspection *Per Mfr Flushed clear after each operation or test §10.2.7 
Operational Test  Testing Annually Full Manual & Automatic Operational Test §10.1 
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Water Storage Tanks 
Water Level Inspection *Quarterly Where a water level alarm is provided §9.2.1 
   Level Alarm Testing *2 Times/Year High and Low water level alarms tested §9.3.5 
   Level Indicators Testing Every 5 Years Accuracy and freedom of movement §9.3.1 
Thermostats Testing Frequency per manufacturer’s specifications §9.3.2 
Low Temp Alarm Testing *Monthly Where provided, test in cold weather §9.3.3 
Air Pressure Inspection *Monthly In pressure tanks  §9.2.2 
Tank Exterior, Inspection *Quarterly  Free of damage, no leakage, sound structure §9.2.5.1 
Tank Support Maintenance *Per Mfr Embankment Supported Rubberized Fabric §9.4.6 
Expansion Joints Inspection *Annually Where provided, no leaks, no cracks §9.2.5.3 
Interior  Inspection Every 5 Years Free of damage §9.2.6.1 
 Every 3 Years Pressure tanks, & steel tanks w/out corrosion protection §9.2.6.1 
Sediment, Drain Maintenance *2 Times/Year Drain and/or flush tank §9.4.5 
Cathode Protection Maintenance Annually Where provided, per manufacturer  
Drain Valves Maintenance Annually Cycled fully open and closed  
Vent Screens Maintenance Annually Clean  
 
 
Inspection: A visual examination to verify an item is in operating condition and free of physical damage. 
Testing: A procedure used to determine the status of a system operating as intended by conducting physical checks. 
Maintenance: Work performed to keep equipment operable or to make repairs. 
 
*Servicing may be performed by an owner, but must be performed at least annually by a licensed company 
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Appendix F - Table Three  
Owner Performed 

Testing, Inspection, and Maintenance of Fire Alarm Signaling Systems As Required by 
 Regulation 703, Chapter 1 and the National Fire Alarm Code, NFPA 72, 2007 Edition 

 
This brief summary of periodic tests, inspections, and maintenance is not all inclusive, and, to assist in the 
performance of these services, the user is advised to purchase the applicable documents from NFPA (1-800-344-
3555).  These periodic tests, inspections, and maintenance may be performed by the owner or the owner’s 
maintenance staff.  A log book must be maintained by the owner for each system.  The log book must include the 
date the service was performed, the type of service performed, and the person performing the service.  An asterisk (*) 
denotes servicing which must be performed at least annually (once a year) by a company licensed by the Office of 
State Fire Marshal, Licensing Division, (302) 739-4394. 
  
Item Activity Frequency Service Section #/Table 
Control Equipment: 
Fire Alarm Systems Unmonitored for Alarm Supervisory, Trouble Signals 
 Fuses Inspection *Weekly No damage or  missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Interfaced Equip Inspection *Weekly Wiring connections secure/No damage Table 10.3.1 
 Lamps and LEDs Inspection *Weekly All lamps and LEDs illuminated Table 10.3.1 
 Primary (Main) Inspection *Weekly Secured/Marked/No damage Table 10.3.1 
  Power Supply  
Batteries 
Lead-Acid Inspection *Monthly Electrolyte level/connections, No corrosion Table 10.3.1 
Nickel-Cadmium Inspection *2 Times/Year No corrosion/leakage, Connections tight Table 10.3.1 
Primary (Dry Cell) Inspection *Monthly No corrosion/leakage, Connections tight Table 10.3.1 
Sealed Lead-Acid Inspection *2 Times/Year No corrosion/leakage, Connections tight Table 10.3.1 
Transient Suppressors  
Lightning Protection Equipment   Table 10.3.1 and 
  Inspection *2 Times/Year Per mfr/After every lightning strikes/storms NFPA 780 
 
Remote Annunciators 
 Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
Initiating Devices 
Air Sampling Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
Duct Detectors Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
Electromechanical Releasing Device 
 Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1  
Suppression System Switches 
 Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
Fire Alarm Boxes Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
Heat Detectors Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
Radiant Energy Fire Detectors 
 Inspection *Quarterly No damage/obstructions/proper position Table 10.3.1 
Smoke Detectors Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
Supervisory Signal Devices                                                                                                                                              
                               Inspection *Quarterly Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
Waterflow Devices  
 Inspection *Quarterly Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
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Guard’s Tour Equipment 
 Inspection *2 Times/Year No damage or missing parts/equipment Table 10.3.1 
Interface Equipment 
 Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
Alarm Notification Appliances 
Audible Devices       Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
Speakers Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table10.3.1  
Visible Devices Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
Supervising Station Fire Alarm Systems - Transmitters 
DACT Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
DART Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
McCulloh Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
RAT Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
Supervising Station Fire Alarm Systems - Receivers 
DACR Inspection *Monthly Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
DARR Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
McCulloh Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
Two-Way RF Multiplex 
 Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
RASSR Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
RARS Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
Private Microwave Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
Engine-Driven Generator 
 Inspection *Weekly No damage or leakage Table 10.3.1 
 Testing *Weekly Verify operation NFPA 110 
 
Uninterrupted Power Supply (UPS) 
 Testing *Per manufacturer and NFPA 111 Table 10.4.4 

Inspection: A visual examination to verify an item is in operating condition and free of physical damage. 
Testing: A procedure used to determine the status of a system operating as intended by conducting physical checks. 
Maintenance: Work performed to keep equipment operable or to make repairs. 
 
*Servicing may be performed by an owner, but must be performed at least annually by a licensed company 
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Appendix F - Table Four 

Licensed Company Required 
   

Testing, Inspection, and Maintenance of Fire Alarm Signaling Systems As Required by  
Regulation 703, Chapter 1 and the National Fire Alarm Code, NFPA 72, 2007 Edition 

 
This brief summary of periodic tests, inspections, and maintenance is not all inclusive, and, to assist in the 
performance of these services, the user is advised to purchase the applicable documents from NFPA (1-800-344-
3555).  These periodic services must be performed by a company licensed by the Office of State Fire Marshal, 
Licensing Division, (302) 739-4394.  A log book must be maintained by the licensed company for each system.  The 
log book must include the date the service was performed, the type of service performed, and the person performing 
the service.  An asterisk (*) denotes servicing which may be performed by an owner, but must be performed at least 
annually (once a year) by a licensed company. A licensed company must forward a Certificate of Inspection to the 
Office of State Fire Marshal within 30 days of the annual inspection. 
  
Item Activity Frequency Service Section #/Table 
Control Equipment: 

Fire Alarm Systems Unmonitored for Alarm Supervisory, Trouble Signals 
 Fuses Inspection *Weekly No damage or  missing parts Table 10.3.1 
  Testing Quarterly Remove fuse & verify rating & supervision Table 10.4.4 
 Interfaced Equip Inspection *Weekly Wiring connections secure/No damage Table 10.3.1 

 Testing Quarterly Verify integrity & signals by operational test Table 10.4.4 
 Lamps & LEDs Inspection *Weekly All lamps and LEDs illuminated Table 10.3.1 
  Testing Quarterly All lamps and LEDs illuminated Table 10.4.4 
 Primary (Main) Inspection *Weekly Secured/Marked/No damage Table 10.3.1  
  Power Supply Testing Quarterly Disconnect secondary power, max load test Table 10.4.4 
 Functions Testing Quarterly Full Function Test Table 10.4.4 
 Transponders Testing Quarterly Full Function Test Table 10.4.4 
 
Fire Alarm Systems Monitored for Alarm Supervisory, Trouble Signals 

 Fuses Inspection Annually No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
  Testing Annually Remove fuse & verify rating & supervision Table 10.4.4 
 Interfaced Equip Inspection Annually No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
  Testing Annually Verify integrity & signals by operational test Table 10.4.4 
 Lamps & LEDs Inspection Annually No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
  Testing Annually All lamps and LEDs illuminated Table 10.4.4 
 Primary (Main) Inspection Annually No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Power Supply Testing Annually Disconnect secondary power, max load test Table 10.4.4 
 Functions Testing Annually Full Function Test Table 10.4.4 
 Transponders Testing Annually Full Function Test Table 10.4.4 
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 Batteries 
Lead-Acid Inspection *Monthly Electrolyte level/connections, No corrosion Table 10.3.1 
 Testing 2 Times/Year Discharge, Load Voltage, Specific Gravity Table 10.4.4 
 Testing Annually Charger Test Table 10.4.4 
Nickel-Cadmium Inspection *2 Times/Year No corrosion/leakage, Connections tight Table 10.3.1 
 Testing 2 Times/Year Load Voltage Table 10.4.4 
 Testing Annually Charger Test, Discharge (30 min) Test Table 10.4.4 
Primary (Dry Cell) Inspection *Monthly No corrosion/leakage, Connections tight Table 10.3.1 
 Testing Monthly Load Voltage Table 10.4.4 
Sealed Lead-Acid Inspection *2 Times/Year No corrosion/leakage, Connections tight Table 10.3.1 
 Testing 2 Times/Year Load Voltage Table 10.4.4        
                                Testing Annually Charger Test, Discharge (30 min) Test Table 10.4.4 
  
Transient Suppressors 

Lightning Protection Equipment   Table 10.3.1 and 
  Inspection *2 Times/Year Per mfr/After every lightning strikes/storms NFPA 780 
  Testing Per mfr and NFPA 780 
Remote Annunciators 

 Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Testing Annual Verify operation & identification Table 10.4.4 
Initiating Devices 

Air Sampling Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Testing Annually Verify alarm & airflow via ports per mfr Table 10.4.4 
Duct Detectors Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Testing Annually Verify per manufacturer Table 10.4.4 
Electromechanical Releasing Device 
 Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
  Nonrestorable  Testing Annually Remove link, ensure operation, lubricate Table 10.4.4 
  Restorable  Testing Annually Remove link, ensure operation, lubricate Table 10.4.4 
Suppression System Switches 
 Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Testing Annually Mechanical/electrical operation of switch Table 10.4.4 
   Verify signal receipt at panel 
Fire Alarm Boxes Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Testing Annually Operate per manufacturer Table 10.4.4 
Heat Detectors/All Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Fixed-Temp., Testing Annually Heat test per manufacturer Table 10.4.4 
 Rate-of-Rise, 
 Rate-of-Compensation, Restorable Line, Spot Type (excluding Pneumatic Tub Type) 
 Fixed-Temp., Testing Annually Mechanical/electrical tests/Loop resistance Table 10.4.4 
 Nonrestorable Line Type 
 Fixed-Temp., Testing After 15 Years Replace all devices or Lab test 2 per 100 Table 10.4.4 
 Nonrestorable Spot Type 
 Nonrestorable, Testing Annually Mechanical/electrical function tests Table 10.4.4 
 (General) 
 Restorable Line, Testing Annually Heat source or pressure pump Table 10.4.4 
Radiant Energy Fire Detectors 
 Inspection *Quarterly No damage/obstructions/proper position Table 10.3.1 
  Testing 2 Times/Year Per manufacturer and Sensitivity Tests Table 10.4.4 
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Smoke Detectors Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1
 Testing Annually Functional Test Table 10.4.4
 Testing 1st Year and Sensitivity Test Table 10.4.4 
  Alternating Yrs (IF within listed and marked sensitivity range) 
Supervisory Signal Devices 
 Inspection *Quarterly Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Control Valve Testing Quarterly Operate valve per mfr/Verify signal receipt Table 10.4.4 
 High-/Low-Air Testing Quarterly Operate switch per mfr/Verify signal receipt Table 10.4.4 
 Room Temp Testing Quarterly Operate switch/Verify signal receipt Table 10.4.4 
 Water Level Testing Quarterly Operate switch/Verify signal receipt Table 10.4.4 
 Water Temp Testing Quarterly Operate switch/Verify signal receipt Table 10.4.4 
 Water Flow Testing Quarterly Flow water per NFPA 25 Table 10.4.4 
 Valve Tamper  
    Switch Testing 2 Times/Year Operate switch per mfr/Verify signal receipt Table 10.4.4 
 
Waterflow Devices Inspection *Quarterly Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1
 Testing 2 Times/Year Operate switch per mfr/Verify signal receipt Table 10.4.4 
Fire-Gas & Other Testing Annually Per manufacturer Table 10.4.4 
Guard’s Tour Equipment 
 Inspection *2 Times/Year No damage or missing parts/equipment Table 10.3.1 
 Testing Annual Per manufacturer Table 10.4.4 
Interface Equipment 

 Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Testing Annual Operational test/Verify signal receipt Table 10.4.4 
Alarm Notification Appliances 

Audible Devices Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Testing Annual Measure sound level IAW ANSI S-1.4a Table 10.4.4 
Speakers Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Testing Annual Measure sound level IAW ANSI S-1.4a Table 10.4.4 
   Verify Voice Clarity 
Visible Devices Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1
 Testing Annual Per manufacturer Table 10.4.4 
 
Supervising Station Fire Alarm Systems - Transmitters 

All Equipment Testing Annual Per mfr/operational test/verify signal receipt Table 10.4.4 
DACT Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Testing Annual 2 lines/line seizure/trouble signal w/in 90 sec Table 10.4.4 
DART Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Testing Annual Trouble signal w/in 4 minutes Table 10.4.4 
McCulloh Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Testing Annual 3 rounds-3 impulses/end-end metallic/etc. Table 10.4.4 
RAT Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 

Testing Annual Fault indication/trouble signal Table 10.4.4 
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Supervising Station Fire Alarm Systems - Receivers 

All Equipment Testing Monthly Per mfr/operational test/verify signal receipt Table 10.4.4  
DACR Inspection *Monthly Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Testing Monthly Trouble signal/verify 24-hour signals Table 10.4.4 
DARR Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Testing Monthly Verify signals for all 5 trouble conditions  Table 10.4.4 
McCulloh Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Testing Monthly Verify signals for all 4 trouble conditions/etc. Table 10.4.4 
Two-Way RF Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
   Multiplex Testing Monthly Per mfr/operational test/verify signal receipt Table 10.4.4 
RASSR and Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
RARSR Testing Monthly Verify signals for all 3 trouble conditions Table 10.4.4 
Private Microwave Inspection *2 Times/Year Secured/No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 

Testing Monthly Verify signals for all 4 trouble conditions Table 10.4.4 
Engine-Driven Generator 

 Inspection *Weekly No damage or leakage Table 10.3.1 
 Testing *Weekly Verify operation NFPA 110 
Uninterrupted Power Supply (UPS)  
 Testing *Per manufacturer and NFPA 111 Table 10.4.4  
Secondary (Standby) Power Supply 
 Testing Annually Disconnect primary/verify trouble signal/etc. Table 10.4.4  
 
Control Panel Trouble Signals 
 Testing Annually Audible/Visible, Disconnect Switches, Table 10.4.4 
   Ground-Faults, Signal Transmission Off-Site 
Conductors 

 Metallic  Testing Annually Stray Voltage, Short Circuit Faults,  Table 10.4.4 
   Ground Faults, Loop Resistance 
 Nonmetallic Testing Annually Circuit Integrity, Supervision Table 10.4.4 
Fiber Optics/Fiber 
Optics Cable Power Testing Annually Audible/Visible, Disconnect Switches, Table 10.4.4 
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Emergency Voice/Alarm Communications Equipment 
 Inspection Annually No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
Phone Set, Phone  
Jacks,  Testing Annually Full Function Test Table 10.4.4 
Amplifier/Tone Generators, Call-In Signal Silence, Off-Hook Indicator (Ring Down), System Performance 
 
Special Hazard Equipment 

Abort Switches, 
Cross-Zone  
Detection Circuits,  Testing Annually Operate switches/sensors and verify Table 10.4.4 
 
Matrix-Type Circuit, Release Solenoid, Squibb Release Circuit, Verified/Sequential/Counting Zone Circuit, 
All other devices or circuits or combinations thereof. 
 
Special Procedures 
 Inspection 2 Times/Year No damage or missing parts Table 10.3.1 
 Testing Annually Alarm Verification/Multiplex Systems Table 10.4.4 
 
Low Power Radio (Wireless Systems) 
 Testing Monthly Per manufacturer Table10.4.4  

Inspection: A visual examination to verify an item is in operating condition and free of physical damage. 
Testing: A procedure used to determine the status of a system operating as intended by conducting physical checks. 
Maintenance: Work performed to keep equipment operable or to make repairs. 
 
*Servicing may be performed by an owner, but must be performed at least annually by a licensed company 
 


